Finding Open Image Collections: Image & Music Use Guide

An extensive collection of historical photos from the British Library collection. The collection contains architectural drawings, children's book images, flora & fauna, sci-fi, advertisements, Canadian WWI images, typography, comic book images, and 14 more pages of topics. Something for everyone.
Image Use: Image Use: You can see licensing information on each individual photo and filter for the license you need Click the "any licence" dropdown to narrow the search to the use you need.

Browse our most popular collections of royalty-free stock photos. We're constantly adding new copyright-free pictures to seasonal and trending categories. All our images are high-resolution
Image Use: Free for personal and commercial use.

Flickr a community, home to tens of billions of photos contains photos and videos released under a variety of licenses.
Image Use: You can see licensing information on each individual photo and filter for the license you need Click the "any licence" dropdown to narrow the search to the use you need.

Flickr contains photos and videos released under a variety of licenses.
Image Use: This search automatically filters your results to CC-licensed items only. You can see licensing information and terms of use on the image page.

Our goal is to offer the best high-quality content: illustrations, photos, icons, mockups, and presentations templates.
Image Use Refer to the Freepik License on each photo for easy to apply terms of use.

Image Use: Use the Usage Rights filter to limit your search results to the license type you need. More about using Google image searches.

Access 4,800+Animated Icons Lordicon is a powerful library of carefully crafted animated icons.
Image Use This site contains paid content free downloads are to be used in accordance with the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivatives 4.0 International license.

Beautiful photos of Black and Brown people.
Image Use: All images are Creative Commons Zero (CC0) free for commercial and personal use.

Official NASA photographs from agency photographers.
Image Use: Nasa images are in the Public Domain and can be used without copyright restrictions.

Free Icons for everything.
Image Use: Must provide attribution for free use of icons unless icons are listed as Public Domain or you must pay for an "attribution free license." With License icons do not require attribution.

A huge meta-search tool that can be used to find CC-licensed images on Google Images, Fotopedia, Europeana, etc.
Image Use: All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.

Image Use: All photos and videos on Pexels are free to use,. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is not necessary but always appreciated. You can modify photos and videos.

Search now to download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for school!
Image Use: All photos shown are, to the best of our (and Flickr's / Pixabay's) knowledge, licensed by Creative Commons for public use

Search now to download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for work! Searches Flicker and Pixabay collections as well as others.
Image Use: All photos shown are, to the best of our (and Flickr's / Pixabay's) knowledge, licensed by Creative Commons for public use

Image Use: All content on Pixabay can be used for free for commercial and noncommercial use across print and digital, with some exceptions. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the contributor or Pixabay is not necessary but is always appreciated by our community. You can make modifications to content from Pixabay. (Do be cautious to not select the pay-per-use Shutterstock images that may appear on this site)

A collection of unique historical photos from the Public Domain Review, an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.
Image Use: All images are free for any use in the public domain.

Stock Vault allows you to post, link, store, share and otherwise make available certain information, text, graphics, or other material ("Content"). You are responsible for the Content that you post to the Service, including its legality, reliability, and appropriateness.
Image Use:Photos on this site are under licenses for commercial use, non commercial use and creative commons licenses. Check the license terms on each photo.

Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking.
Image Use: Ensure you stay within the open access collection. CC0 is a designation used by cultural organizations to waive copyright rights that it may have for a digital asset. The Smithsonian is using CC0 to tell people that they do not need the Smithsonian’s permission to use the digital asset in any way.

Nearly 30,000 photos of students and faculty at RRC Polytech in a variety of settings, events and classes
Image Use: All rights reserved by RRC Polytech. Use permitted by current Staff and Students..

Image Use: All photos can be downloaded and used for free. Commercial and non-commercial purposes permitted; no permission needed (though attribution is appreciated!).
Photos cannot be sold without significant modification. Compiling photos from Unsplash to replicate a similar or competing service is not permitted

This website provides links and search for many US government image collections
Image Use: U.S. government works are in the Public Domain and may be used without permission or fee. Some images may be protected by license or copyright. Read the disclaimers on each site before using these images.

The Wellcome Library is one of the world's greatest collections for the study of the history of medicine. Image themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science, including paintings, illustrations, photos and more. They contain an array of topics relating to health and the human experience
Image Use: Except where noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Image Use: 20 million freely usable image, sound, and video files. All files are Public Domain or CC-licensed. Check the “Licensing” section for an image to find any terms and conditions for reuse/instructions on attribution.

The WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project.It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Image Use: These works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 License

Create bold, fearless designs with absolutely no attribution required. Take all the credit – go on, you know you want to.
Image Use: Items under the Reshot Free License can be used in your commercial and non-commercial projects, for free.
You’re granted a copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, publicly perform and broadcast the Items. Your rights are non-exclusive, worldwide, sub-licensable and ongoing. Attribution is not required, however, we would appreciate it if you credit Reshot where reasonably possible.

Beautiful Free Stock Photos
Avoid Istock photos and ads on the site as these are not free images. StockSnap CC0 images free from copyright restrictions.