Finding Open Image Collections: Image & Music Use Guide

Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy

Bassett and Gruber collaborated on a seventeen-year project of creating three-dimensional photographic images of human anatomy using innovations in dissection pioneered by Dr. Bassett.
Image Use: These images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International license.

Cell Image Library

This Image Library is a repository for images and movies of cells from a variety of organisms. It demonstrates cellular architecture and functions with high quality images, videos, and animations.
Image Use:: Contains Copyright images please use the License filter in Advanced Search to limit to either public domain, CC-BY,    or CC-BY-NC images.

David G. Cogan Ophthalmic Pathology Collection

An extensive collection of clinical ophthalmic cases and their pathology for use by researchers and clinicians to aid in preventing, diagnosing, and treating diseases of the eye and visual system.
Image Use: Images in the collection are not copyrighted and may be reproduced without permission. However, we do ask that credit be given to the "Cogan Collection, NEI/NIH."

Gray's Anatomy plates (WikiMedia Commons)

Over 500 images from the Plates from the public domain (1918) textbook Gray's Anatomy.
Image Use: Public Domain, no restrictions on use.

Heal

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
Image Use: (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Remain in the HEAL collection for free images.

Illustrate Change

Representation in medical illustration.
Image Use: The images in this library are available to use for educational and training purposes.

Images from the History of Medicine collection

the Images from the History of Medicine collection, including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century. Our unique digital  collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted,                                     obtain permission before use).

Images from the History of Medicine collection

the Images from the History of Medicine collection, including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century. Our unique digital  collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted,       obtain permission before use).

National Cancer Institute (NCI) Visuals Online

Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use). For more information about Visuals Online, including reuse and contact information, see About Visuals Online

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Image Gallery

An online searchable database of photos and illustrations. There is an advanced search feature with drop-down menus for graphic type and keywords used to describe images.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labelled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) Multimedia

NIBIB's multimedia collection contains a video, audio and image library. The video collection is larger than the audio and photo collections.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Image Gallery

The NIDCR image gallery consists of images in three categories: Science, Oral Health, and NICDR Staff. It contains both photographs and illustrations.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Image Library

Images in this collection are sorted into three main categories: Anatomical and Medical, Instructional, and Lifestyle and Activity. Most images in the collection are black and white illustrations.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Image and Video Gallery

A collection of photographs, illustrations and videos. Images are downloadable in small, medium or large format.
Image Use: NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

Open-Access Medical Image Repositories

A substantial list of databases and open image collections on a variety of allied health subjects.
Image Use:Please review each collection for its individual licensing and permissions.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL) (CDC)

PHIL contains photos and illustrations that can be used by educators, researchers, and health care providers to easily communicate public health messages. the public
Image Use: available for personal, professional and educational use in electronic or print media, with appropriate citation. No restrictions on Public Domain materials.

Reframing Revolution

A collection of medical illustrations that address the lack of representation in women’s healthcare, celebrate all forms of motherhood, and accurately reflect the diversity of women.
Image Use: non-exclusive, limited, personal, non-transferable, revocable, license to access and use Our Content, without the right to sublicense,No commercial use.

Specimen (Pathology) Collection

Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens.
Image Use: Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licenses.Click "Some rights reserved" to view full terms.

Wellcome Collections - Image search

The Wellcome Library is one of the world's greatest collections for the study of the history of medicine. Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Search for free, downloadable images taken from our library and museum collections, including paintings, illustrations, photos and more. They contain an array of topics relating to health and the human experience
Image Use: Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License