Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mission

Library Mission Statement

LIBRARY LEARNING COMMONS MISSION

The Library Learning Commons supports the Bristol community, particularly our students, in achieving their learning goals by:  

  • Creating access to quality information resources in all formats;  
  • Instructing students in using and producing information ethically;  
  • Providing support for understanding and applying course content;  
  • Promoting critical thinking and helping students learn how to learn.

(rev 9/21)

About the Library

The Bristol Library Learning Commons can be found on the Attleboro, Fall River, New Bedford, and Taunton campuses, as well as remotely. Research Librarians, Tutoring Services, and Writing Center services are available at all locations and remotely.

The LLC provides access to an extensive collection of electronic resources which can be accessed from the web both on and off campus.  Physical collections can be accessed or distributed to and from any Bristol campus or library in the HELM Network and beyond.

Library collections are built in consultation with the faculty to best support the academic work of the campus community.  Information literacy education is also provided through individual research appointments (Book-A-Librarian), and in-class library instruction.


Overview of Library Learning Commons Library Resources:

  • Over 100 academic and research databases covering a wide range of disciplines.
  • More than 30,000 eBooks, and more than 15,000 streaming videos, CDs, and DVDs.
  • More than 60,000 print titles.
  • Over 5,000,000 items available via the HELM Network with your activated Bristol ID Card.
  • An extensive archives, containing works by faculty and staff, college publications, the Lizzie Borden Collection, the LusoCentro Collection, and the new Bristol Holocaust & Genocide Center Collection.