chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Specialty Database Access Instructions

Specialty Database Access Instructions

SPECIALTY DATABASE ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS

While most of the databases (and in some cases subscription websites) have automatic access from the A-Z Database List with your 900#, some require that you sign-up for access or create an account in a different way. Below are instructions for gaining access to those resources. 

New York Times (NYT) Online

We now have ONLINE access to the New York Times! This differs from our databases that provide access to the NYT - those databases let you search for NYT articles like you would in any standard database - but it is all text, and most often lacks any photos or visual information that might go along with the story. Access to the NYT Online is exactly that - it allows you access to the paper's digital edition, online. All those times that someone has posted a link to a NYT article that you wanted to read but couldn't because it was behind a paywall? No more frustration on that front! This will allow you to login-in with your account and have instant access to everything the NYT offers in its digital edition of the paper. So cool. 

Instructions

Step 1: Navigate to accessnyt.com 

Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “Bristol Community College - Fall River, MA”

Step 3: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus

Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)

Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.

Want to see a video of the process? CLICK HERE

Transparent Languages Online for Libraries

Our Transparent Languages database provides language lessons for over 100 world-wide languages (and some of their dialects). To access this resource (from off campus) you will first need to authenticate with your 900#. Then, before you access the languages for the first time, you will need to create a personal account (using the middle tab on the screen). Doing this will allow you to keep your lessons and track your progress, and pick up where you left off. You can access in "Guest Mode" but that doesn't provide you with full functionality, just a list of the languages offered. 

Boston Public Library eCard

If you are a resident of MA, or own property in MA, or commute to MA regularly for work, you are eligible to get a Boston Public Library eCard. This card gives you online access to several resources including

  • JSTOR - a research database
  • Kanopy - movies
  • OverDrive - ebooks and audiobooks
  • hoopla - movies, ebooks, and music
  • Flipster - online magazines

To sign up for a BPL eCard, go to https://www.bpl.org/ecard and follow the form directions.

If you are not eligible but need to access JSTOR, please call the Library Learning Commons and a librarian will be happy to help you!