Finding Open Image Collections: Image & Music Use Guide
Art & Architecture Image Collections
Art & Architecture Image Collection
Find here open collections related to art and architecture in these collections. The majority of these images are in the Public Domain.
Historical Miscellany On the Web
 |
Launched as a pilot project in 2008 between the Library of Congress and Flickr, The Commons has grown into an unprecedented collaborative photographic resource. The program has two main objectives: 1. To increase access to publicly-held photography collections, and 2. To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge. (Then watch what happens when they do!)
|
 |
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Hosted by Google Images
|
 |
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress American Memory project provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
|
 |
Calisphere Image Search
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. It contains over 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.
|
 |
George Eastman House Online Collections
The George Eastman House has the largest collection of photography in the United States. Their online collections contain a representative sample.
|
 |
NYPL Digital Gallery
Explore 550,000+ images digitized from the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
|
 |
Europeana is about ideas and inspiration, and providing access to Europe’s cultural and scientific heritage. It contains links to 4 million digital items, including collections from the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. |
 |
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone. |
Historical Newspapers & Magazines (Bristol Only)
-
News OneFile (Gale)
Subjects: MANY
Description: Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Contents: Primary Sources; Newspapers
More info - Historical Boston Globe (1872-1984)
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 18720-1984. Boston Globe Historical adds one year of content annually.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
-
Historical New York Times (1851-2012)
Subjects: MANY
Description: General newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1851-2012.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources