Reading: Articles & Databases
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research in College Reading.
Icon Legend
|
|
|
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
Peer Reviewed Content |
United States Government Document or Publication |
Recommended Databases for Research in Reading
- Learning Express Library 3.0Learning Express is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,900 periodicals; nearly 500 full text reference books; more than 84,700 biographies; over 100,500 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of more than 202,100 photos, maps and flags. Coverage: 1975 – present.
Multi-Discipline Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and a number of abstracts for 3,390 journals/periodicals with full text for 2,089 of these titles. Coverage includes articles in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology; national news periodicals; general interest magazines; and the New York Times newspaper (indexed only). Includes many scholarly/academic journal articles. Coverage: 1980 – present.
- General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database includes access to articles in nearly 10,200 titles, 6,000 of which offer full text of their contents. More than 3,000 scholarly journals are included in this count as well as 121 newswire services and five newspaper indexes. General interest and news magazines; academic journals, business and technology publications, law journals, health care periodicals, and newspapers are all made accessible through this OneFile. Coverage: 1980 – present.
Search Films on Demand
Search Films on Demand from anywhere to find educational streaming videos.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
Looking for Journals about Reading?
The drop-down menu Reading Journals (under Articles & Databases) lists journals that publish articles on this and other related topics.
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
- Register with the Boston Public LibraryConnect to hundreds of additional databases through the Boston Public Library.