Skip to main content

Dental Hygiene: Journals

An introduction to the services and resources for Dental Hygiene students at Bristol Community College.

Journals and Magazines

There are many sources in the library where one can locate journals - which contain the articles - required for research.  There is the traditional method of print and microfilm, where you have to go to the library and photocopy or print out the information you need.

We also subscribe to a plethora of on-line databases, which provide access to the full text journal on-line.  Students are able to type in a variety of topics, for instance "blood, hematology, clinical lab science" either separately or together as a string, and the databases searches and finds a multitude of information in the form of articles which can be accessed.  BCC students are able to access the databases from home.

In addition, we have provided links to "open source" journals and articles, which means that the publisher is "allowing" the journal and articles within to be accessed for free. 

Dental Hygiene Journals

Access:
Print Holdings - Current 2 Years


American Dental Association News
Print Holdings - Current Year


Annals of Periodontology
Password required; Please see Reference Librarian


Contemporary Oral Hygiene
Print Holdings - Current Year


Dental Clinics of North America
Print Holdings - Microfilm: 1985-2001; RK 1 D28: 2012-


Dental Economics
Print Holdings - Current Year


Dental Equipment & Materials
Print Holdngs - Current Year


Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
Print Holdings - Current Year


JADA: Journal of the American Dental Association
Print Holdings - 1980-2005; Current Year

Publisher Web Site Access


Journal of Clinical Periodontology
Print Holdings - Current 2 Years


Journal of Dental Education
Print Holdings - Current 2 Years


Journal of Dental Hygiene : JDH
IngentaConnect - Access from 2004 - 2012


Journal of Dental Research (JDR)
Print Holdings - 1985-2005; Current 2 Years

Journal of Dental Research
Sage Publication - Access from 1999 - Current


Journal of Dentistry for Children (ASDC)
Print Holdings - 1985-2005

Online Access
IngentaConnect - Access from 2003 - 2012 (Select Issues)


Journal of Periodontology
Print Holdings - 1980-2005; Current 2 Years

Publisher Web Site Access
Password Required; Please see Reference Librarian


Journal of Public Health Dentistry
Print Holdings - 1980-1997


Lab Management Today
Print Holdings - Current 2 Years


Orthodontic Products
Print Holdings - Current Year


RDH
Print Holdings - Current Year


Access : The Newsmagazine of the American Dental Hygienists' Association


Advances In Dental Research


Advances in Medical and Dental Sciences


Journal of Dental Implants


Journal of Evolution of Medical and Dental Sciences


Journal of Forensic Dental Sciences

What is Full Text Finder?

Full Text Finder

Full Text Finder is a new state-of-the-art publication search service that includes your knowledgebase and a suite of holdings management tools and is designed to replace the existing EBSCO A-to-Z Reader Site.  Full Text Finder  is a searchable database from Ebsco that allows you to locate journals within the collection of print and online journals.  It includes journals we have access to within the many databases to which we subscribe. 

For instance, if you type in a journal we have online access to, Full Text Finder is going to direct you to the full text page with a list of what database it is located and the time frame in which coverage is provided: 

Critical Care Nurse

 

If we do not have online access, Full Text Finder is going to let you know we have the title in print.

American Journal of Nursing

ISSN: 0002-936X
 
 

If there is no access to a title in which you need for your research, you may place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the article title.

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Click on the subject to access journals listed in Dental Hygiene.

Browse by subject

Dental

Journal of Dental Sciences and Research
Alternative title: JDSR
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Sri Siddhartha Dental College
Platform, Host, Aggregator: Sri Siddhartha Dental College
Publication charges?: No charges (see http://ssdctumkur.org/jdsr-Instructions.php)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2010
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 0976-2841
Keywords: dentistry, dental sciences
Date added to DOAJ: 2010-10-25
Home page: http://ssdctumkur.org/jdsr.php
Country of publication: India


Dental Hypotheses
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Dental Hypotheses
Platform, Host, Aggregator: Open Journal Systems
Publication charges?: Has charges (see http://www.dentalhypotheses.com/contributors.asp)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2010
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 2155-8213
Keywords: dentistry, dental care, oral health
Date added to DOAJ: 2010-10-06
Home page: http:///www.dentalhypotheses.com
Journal License: CC BY-NC-SA
Country of publication: United States


Journal of Dental Research, Dental Clinics, Dental Prospects
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Tabriz University of Medical Sciences
Platform, Host, Aggregator: Tabriz University of Medical Sciences
Publication charges?: No charges (see http://dentistry.tbzmed.ac.ir/joddd/index.php/joddd/about/submissions)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2007
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 2008-210X, 2008-2118
Keywords: oral health, dental caries
Date added to DOAJ: 2009-08-26
Home page: http://dentistry.tbzmed.ac.ir/joddd/index.php/joddd/index
Journal License: CC BY
Country of publication: Iran, Islamic Republic of


Journal of Research in Dentistry
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Universidade do Sul de Santa Catarina
Platform, Host, Aggregator: OJS
Publication charges?: No charges (see http://www.portaldeperiodicos.unisul.br/index.php/JR_Dentistry/about/submissions#onlineSubmissions)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2013
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 2317-5907
Keywords: dental composite resins, dental stress analysis, dental materials
Date added to DOAJ: 2013-12-11
Home page: http://www.portaldeperiodicos.unisul.br/index.php/JR_Dentistry
Country of publication: Brazil


The Internet Journal of Dental Science
Alternative title: The Internet Journal of Dental Science
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Internet Scientific Publications LLC
Platform, Host, Aggregator: Internet Scientific Publications, LLC
Publication charges?: Has charges (see http://www.quickmedpub.com/)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2004
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 1937-8238
Keywords: odontology
Date added to DOAJ: 2004-08-16
Home page: http://www.ispub.com/journal/the-internet-journal-of-dental-science/
Country of publication: United States


Journal of Theory and Practice of Dental Public Health
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: SCASI
Platform, Host, Aggregator: OJS
Publication charges?: No charges (see http://www.sharmilachatterjee.com/ojs-2.3.8/index.php/JTPDPH/about/submissions#authorGuidelines)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2013
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 2325-0968
Keywords: oral disease, dental disease, craniofacial disease
Date added to DOAJ: 2013-05-30
Home page: http://www.sharmilachatterjee.com/ojs-2.3.8/index.php/JTPDPH
Country of publication: United States


Contemporary Clinical Dentistry
Subjects: Dentistry, Medicine
Publisher: Medknow Publications
Platform, Host, Aggregator: Medknow Publications
Publication charges?: No charges (see http://www.contempclindent.org/contributors.asp)
Started publishing Open Access content in: 2010
Journal Language: English
ISSN(s): 0976-237X, 0976-2361
Keywords: dentistry, oral anatomy, dental anatomy, oral physiology, dental physiology
Date added to DOAJ: 2010-11-11
Home page: http://www.contempclindent.org/
Journal License: CC BY-NC-SA
Country of publication: India