Skip to main content

Dental Hygiene: Reference Resources

An introduction to the services and resources for Dental Hygiene students at Bristol Community College.

Resources

Student Resources – Chester A. Moore Elementary

How do I access from home?...

Remote Access

One of your first duties as a student is to "activate" your Bristol Community College Campus card...aka...student ID.  Why?  Well, once activated, the back of your library card, the barcode (22777...) becomes your accessPass to the libraries resources from home, or for that matter wherever you are that has a internet connection and a device to load it.

If you are trying to access books or online books, please type in the barcode from the back of your activated Bristol Community College Campus card/Student ID.  This will ensure remote access.


BCC Libraries provide access to a collection of eBooks specific for Allied Health topics. Below is a brief description of the selected titles and instructions on how to access. Please visit the database Credo Reference, Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library or eBook Central for further eBooks on your topic.

To access:

BiblioBoard Library
Provides access to public domain, small press and backlist content with additional functionality that enables libraries to create and publish their own content. BiblioBoard Content is unlimited simultaneous use and follows Readers First principles.

eBook Central
Choose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collections of eBooks available via EBSCOhost.

Credo Reference
Full text database of articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major topics; includes audio files, images, and maps.

Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more..


The databases are accessible on campus and off campus with a valid BCC Campus card activated at the library. If the barcode on the back of your ID is not working (22777...) please visit the Library & Learning Commons at any of the four campus locations to activate.

Any questions please email me @ Melanie Johnson.

Reference Books and More...

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

  • a summary of a topic
  • background information on a topic
  • a list of recommended resources
  • factual information

When you find a reference book:

  • Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
  • Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
  • Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Dental Hygiene. You can click on this link to perform a search in HELM using the topic Dental Hygiene.

Please note there are other terms that may be appropriate for your research.  Please see a reference librarian if you are unsure where to start.


Black's medical dictionary, 43rd edition [electronic resource]
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. 

BCC students, faculty, and staff:
Click here to Access this Resource.


Color atlas of oral cancer.  K. M. K. Mashthan
This book provides an overview of clinical examination and a complete list of recent advances in radiographic diagnostic aids. Treatment options and prevention are also covered in depth. Atlas of Oral Cancer features nearly 200 images including histopathology photographs.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF RC 280 M6 S53 2016


Calculate with confidence / Deborah Gray Morris.
This popular text covers the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods offering a step-by-step approach to the calculation and administration of drug dosages. With over 2,000 practice problems, Gray Morris focuses on enhancing the learning experience of nursing students at all curricular levels by making content clinically applicable.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - RS 57 M67 2014


Clinical practice of the dental hygienist 11th ed. / Esther M. Wilkins ; contributing editor, Charlotte J. Wyche.
A primary resource, topics include: The professional dental hygienist -- Evidence-based dental hygiene practice -- Effective health communication -- Infection control : transmissible diseases -- Exposure control : barriers for patient and clinician -- Infection control : clinical procedures -- Patient reception and ergonomic practice -- Introduction to documentation -- Personal, dental, and medical histories -- Vital signs -- Extraoral and intraoral examination -- Dental radiographic imaging -- Study casts - and more.

Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - RK 60.5 W5 2013


Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary 32nd Ed.

Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF R 121 D73 2012


Ethics, jurisprudence, & practice management in dental hygiene, 2nd Edition / Vickie J. Kimbrough, Charla J. Lautar..
"to orient dental hygiene students to clinical practice and its many applications in an office setting. Although dentists, dental practices, and dental hygiene can be generalized, each practice will be unique in its daily operations and policies. This book explains how in this new millennium, the art and science of dental hygiene continues to progress and evolve."

Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River RK 60.5 K563 2007


Mosby's dental dictionary [electronic resource] / [editorial consultants, Charles A. Babbush ... [et al.]. 3rd ed.
A handy reference ideal for the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 3rd Edition defines over 10,000 terms covering all areas of dentistry. Definitions include specialties such as endodontics, periodontics, surgery, and commonly used medical terms. Pocket sized and easy to carry, this edition includes over 300 illustrations and addresses new innovations, research, technology, and products.
BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to access this resource


Mosby's dental drug reference.
Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 11th Edition, provides the current, concise, dental-specific drug information you need at the point of care. More than 850 drug monographs make it easy to find indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental considerations. A companion website adds regular drug updates, a full-color pill atlas, printable patient education handouts, reference tables, and more.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF RK 701 M67 2014


Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions - 9th Edition
a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features authoritative definitions, appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and illustrations - making it an indispensible reference for students and professionals alike.
BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to Access this Resource

Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF R 121 M89 2006 & 2009


Patient assessment tutorials : a step-by-step procedures guide for the dental hygienist / Jill S. Nield-Gehrig, Donald E. Willmann. Edition: 3rd ed.
"The ability to accurately assess patients is vital to the practice of Dental Hygiene--a complete and accurate assessment is the starting point to providing thorough patient care. Patient Assessment Tutorials takes you through the process of patient assessment, and provides you with information on both the actual physical assessment as well as effective patient communication. The highly visual, step-by-step style teaches you vital assessment processes quickly and thoroughly. Excellent features include detailed, full-color illustrations and photographs to visually guide you through procedures and techniques, case studies and personal accounts that bring the content to life, and more."--Provided by publisher.

Call  Number: Bristol CC - Fall River RK 60.5 N54 2013


A practical clinical guide to resin cements / Michelle Sunico-Segarra, Armin Segarra.
Resin cements have become a staple in dental practice as the use of indirect restorations has increased dramatically. This book discusses and describes in detail the available resin cements, thoroughly examines factors that affect the clinical performance of resin cements, and discusses the different resin cements currently on the market. It is designed to provide clinicians with clear, evidence-based assistance in their choices. Decision trees and concept maps are provided to aid the clinician in choosing the right cement for particular clinical situations.
BCC students, faculty, and staff: Click here to access this resource

Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River
RK 652.5 S865 2015

Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing. Edition: Illustrated 7th ed.
"Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference.
Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River REF R 121 .S8 2012


Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary. 22nd Edition, illustrated in full color / editor, Donald Venes.

  • Must-know, rarely memorized information.
  • Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders.
  • Translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.

Must-know, rarely memorized information.
  • Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders.
  • Translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.
- See more at: http://www.fadavis.com/product/tabers#/collapseTwo
Must-know, rarely memorized information.
  • Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders.
  • Translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.
- See more at: http://www.fadavis.com/product/tabers#/collapseTwo
Must-know, rarely memorized information.
  • Appendices for normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and complementary and alternative medicine.
  • Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders.
  • Translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.
- See more at: http://www.fadavis.com/product/tabers#/collapseTwo

Call Number: Bristol CC - Fall River - REF R 121 T18 2013

Destination: Library

Melanie Johnson's picture
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien