Skip to main content

Dental Hygiene: Articles & Databases

An introduction to the services and resources for Dental Hygiene students at Bristol Community College.

From the Boston Public Library

Boston Public Library
An eCard is a Boston Public Library card that you can sign up for online, opens a new window and which provides access to all online resources, including OverDrive and Hoopla.

eCards are available to anyone who lives, resides part-time to attend school, owns property, or works in Massachusetts.

Once you have your BPL library card, click below to gain access to the articles available in the databases. This will take you directly to the page for Health Search.

Health

The databases available from the Boston Public Library are listed on this page by subject, and include access to images and periodical indexes.

Other Resources

Listed below are other resources that may be of use to your searching needs. If at any time you need assistance with your research, please contact a reference librarian by using our Ask a Librarian form, or by calling the reference desk at 508.678.2811, ext. 2108.

Google Scholar (Coverage Varies)
Multi-disciplinary index to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature. Includes the full-text of publications freely available on the web and citations for materials published by commercial publishers. Stronger coverage in the sciences. Results are ranked by Google's determination of relevance.

Dental Hygiene Articles

databases are deep

Databases are basically a collection of data arranged for ease and speed of search and retrieval.  Databases use the search terms you provide to search the journals within their collection for articles that have those terms either in the article or in the subject to come up with a list of results. 

How you find what you are looking for sometimes feels a lot like luck.  Most databases now take their searching premise from Google - one search box that uses natural language. 

Nothing can take the place of the reference interview - but if time is limited, we have organized some of our best allied health databases that will help you locate the information you need to complete your assignments. 

Simply click on the link - if logging in from home type in your activated accessBCC card when prompted - and type in your search terms.  If you need assistance, contact the Reference Desk at 508-678-2811 x2108.  We will be glad to help you.


Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source 
Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.


Health Reference Center Academic (1980-Present)

This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (1975-Present)
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs.

Magill’s Medical Guide
The Guide includes over 1,000 essays, ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words each. There are more than 400 photographs and drawings plus 644 sidebars and tables. The new edition introduces particularly current subject areas such as facial transplantation and Avian influenza (bird flu). Plus, the Guide includes 44 "In the News" sidebars that evaluate recent media stories about ongoing research and experimental treatments.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (1985-Present)
Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. All titles included in this database are also indexed in MEDLINE, with a link from the MEDLINE article to the article in this database if Biomedical Reference Collection has the full text article.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL (1982-Present)
This database provides indexing for over 2,818 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Full text material includes more than 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Pre-CINAHL

A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to searchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing.

Credo Reference: Medicine
Full text database of articles from 24+ reference books covering medicine; includes audio files, images, and maps.


Expanded Academic ASAP (1984-Present)
Index to scholarly articles in art and related disciplines (social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines and The New York Times (indexed only). Offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration — from advertising and microbiology to history and women’s studies.

InfoTrac OneFile (1980-Present)
is a single electronic resource that provides instant access to an unprecedented number of periodicals. Rely on for access to periodical and news content and indexing from a variety of mainstream and specialized sources — from The New York Times to refereed academic journals.


Academic Search Premier (1975-Present)
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database. A search for the term art will give results that include academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books/monographs, and educational reports. A search can also be conducted on images, as well as indexes.

Destination: Library

Melanie Johnson's picture
Melanie Johnson
Chat now
Contact:
Serials & Access Services
Includes:
* Circulation Services
* Inter-library Loan
* Course Reserves
* Serials Management
* Division IV Liaison


Bristol Community College
Library & Learning Commons - Building A
777 Elsbree Street
Fall River, MA 02720
508-678-2811 x2458

"Not all those who wander are lost." -- J.R.R. Tolkien