Early Childhood Education: Early Childhood Education Journals
This guide provides starting points for research in Early Childhood Education.
Books & Literature
 |
 |
 |
 |
- Canadian Children's Book NewsKeeps readers informed about the latest in Canadian children's books. Includes reviews for recommended books, author and illustrator interviews and profiles of publishers and bookstores.
- Child LifeA health-related magazine for elementary school children ages 9-11. The editorial focus is on wholesome entertainment, health education, and the promotion of physical fitness for children in this age group. Content consists of short stories, poetry, games and activities, recipes, and reviews of books and web sites.
- Children's BookwatchContains capsule reviews of children's literature for librarians and teachers.
- Children's Literature in EducationCritical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
- Journal of African Children's and Youth LiteratureCovers literature written for African children and youth.
- Papers: Explorations into Children's LiteratureA scholarly publication devoted to critical essays on childre.'s literature, published three times a year. Articles include evaluations, history, and comparative discussion.
- Spider : The Magazine for ChildrenDesigned to fascinate children at the critical time when they start to read, think, and learn for themselves. Stories, poems, and articles on nature and the world are carefully selected to encourage students to read on their own. Riddles, puzzles, and games offer fun ways for young readers to practice critical thinking skills.
- The Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult BooksPublishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people.
Child Care
 |
 |
 |
- Child & Youth Care ForumConcerned with the advancement of this field and the improvement of child care practice in a variety of day and residential settings.
- Child Care in PracticeConcerned with all disciplines relating to children's services, from social care to health care, medicine to psychology, education, the police and probationary services, to solicitors and barristers.
- Child: Care, Health and DevelopmentPromotes the study of all children, but particularly those handicapped by physical, developmental, emotional, and social problems. Looks at expansion of effective programs of health promotion, care, and treatment.
- Relational Child & Youth Care PracticeCovers all areas of child and youth care with emphasis on the field of social services and welfare.
Child Development
 |
 |
- Child DevelopmentArticles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.
- Child Development PerspectivesChild Development Perspectives (CDP) emphasizes brief, well synthesized reviews of research, typically focusing on emerging lines of inquiry in developmental science. The journal sometimes publishes essays on policy, statistics and methods, and on other topics suitable for the readership. Papers are welcome from all fields that inform modern developmental science. Manuscripts reporting new empirical findings are not appropriate for CDP.
- Child Neuropsychology : A Journal on Normal and Abnormal Development in Childhood and AdolescencePublishes research on the neuropsychological effects of disorders which effect brain functioning in children & adolescents, neuropsychological dimensions of development in childhood & adolescence & method & research findings in child/developmental research.
- Child Study JournalA scholarly quarterly journal focused on theory and research in child and adolescent development from all disciplines of child study. Professional and academic interest.
- Infant and Child DevelopmentPublishes theoretical, empirical and methodological papers covering all aspects of psychological development during infancy and early childhood.
- Infants & Young Children: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Early Childhood InterventionFocuses on research developments and other issues of concern regarding vulnerable children from birth to five years of age and their families.
- New Directions for Child and Adolescent DevelopmentProvide scientific & scholarly presentations on cutting edge issues & concepts in the field of child & adolescent development.
Child Education, Teaching & Learning
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
- Applied Measurement in EducationThe prime objective is to improve communication between academicians and practitioners. Its articles describe original research studies, strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches...
- Arts Education Policy ReviewAimed at educators and deals with the role of the arts in education and curriculum development.
- Child Language Teaching and TherapyAn applied journal for practitioners in health and education with a special interest in children with speech and language difficulties, Child Language Teaching and Therapy.
- ChildArtA quarterly magazine focusing on learning the arts, self-discovery and international education, written for 8 to 12-year-olds worldwide and their families. Features are designed to inspire creativity, imagination and cooperation, covering different cultural settings and historical perspectives as well as contemporary creative activity.
- Childhood Education: Official Journal of the Association for Childhood Education InternationalA bimonthly journal featuring articles for the educational professional, covering all aspects of childhood education. Includes teaching strategies, book reviews, and special reports on such issues as technology in the classroom or the needs of parents.
- Children & Libraries: The Journal of the Association for Library Service to ChildrenProvides continuing education of librarians working with children, showcases current scholarly research and practice in library service to children and spotlights significant activities and programs of the Association of Library Service for Children.
- Children TodayPresents articles dealing with all aspects of adolescents, including education, day care, child abuse and programs designed to help the children of today.
- Children's Literature in EducationCritical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
- Children's Playmate MagazineProvides stories, articles, activities, recipes, and crafts for children ages 6-8 with an emphasis on health and safety.
- Early Childhood Education JournalPublishes articles on curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, equity issues, multicultural units, health nutrition, facilities, special needs, employer-sponsored care, and infant/toddler programs.
- Education & Treatment of ChildrenAn academic journal featuring information concerning the development of services for children and youth. Includes reports written for educators and other child care and mental health providers focused on teaching. Training, and treatment effectiveness. Includes experimental research, research reviews, case studies, issue-oriented papers, and procedure and program descriptions.
- Education DigestCovers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals.
- Education NextA quarterly scholarly journal of the Hoover Institution that explores issues relating to education policy and K-12 education reform in the United States.
- Highlights for ChildrenChildren's magazine dedicated to developing children's reading skills, knowledge and creativity. Contains games, puzzles, tear-outs, clubs, educational projects for children to age 14.
- Information Technology in Childhood Education AnnualTrade publication covering information technology issues in education.
- International Journal of Early Years EducationOffers a perspective on research & major new initiatives in the care & education of young children.
- Journal of Developmental EducationArticles, research and news of note on all aspects of developmental education for professionals in the field.
- Journal of Elementary EducationThe JEE publishes peer reviewed empirical research in the field of Education.
- Journal of Research in Childhood EducationA scholarly journal publishing practical and theoretical research into child development from infancy through early adolescence. Includes reports of empirical research, theoretical articles, ethnographic and case studies, cross-cultural studies and studies addressing international concerns, participant observation studies, and studies deriving data collected from naturalistic settings.
- No Child Left Behind Compliance Insider®No Child Left Behind Compliance Insider is the industry's leading newsletter devoted exclusively to helping you satisfy NCLB requirements in your schools.
- Scholastic Parent and ChildFor Washington-area parents with children through the early teen years. Provides articles focusing on child development, education and health, while serving as a source of information about community goods and services.
- Technology and ChildrenContains practical, innovative & creative articles & activities for the elementary teacher.
Child Mental & Physical Health
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
- Child & Adolescent Mental HealthAims to provide a forum for the exchange of clinical experience, ideas and research in this field.
- Child Abuse ReviewProvides a forum for all professionals working in the field of child protection, giving them access to the latest research findings, practice developments, training initiatives & policy issues.
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental HealthAn international platform for rapid and comprehensive scientific communication on child and adolescent mental health across different cultural backgrounds.
- Child Health AlertAn independent newsletter reporting news and information about children's health and safety. Presents and evaluates current child health and safety developments in a reader-friendly format. Includes information about medications, product recalls, safety hints, and general child health-care tips. Contributors are professional doctors and educational specialists.
- Child Psychiatry and Human DevelopmentArticles on the development of the child and on the physical and psychological maturation of the child for the professional in child psychiatry, pediatrics, psychology, social science and human development.
- Child: Care, Health and DevelopmentPromotes the study of all children, but particularly those handicapped by physical, developmental, emotional, and social problems. Looks at expansion of effective programs of health promotion, care, and treatment.
- Children's Health CareJournal of researched-based articles addressing issues of best practice in children's health.
- Clinical Child and Family Psychology ReviewContains original research reviews, conceptual and theoretical papers, and related work in the broad area of the behavioral sciences that pertains to infants, children, adolescents, and families.
- European Child & Adolescent PsychiatryContains original papers on systematic scientific studies, review articles and annotations related to empirically based clinical child and adolescent psychiatry.
- International Journal of Children's SpiritualityProvides an international inter-disciplinary & multi-cultural forum for those involved in research & development of children's & young people's spirituality, within which this debate can be addressed & widened.
- Issues in Child Abuse AccusationsGoal is to advance care for children through pointing to the mistakes of the rush to solve the problem of child abuse, sharing facts about the reality of abuse, & discussing new ways to respond to accusations, vitcims, perpetrators, & accused.
- Journal of Child PsychotherapyContains articles on psychoanalytic theory & technique as applied to children & young people
- Journal of Clinical Child and Adolescent PsychologyPeer reviewed articles featureing the research and viewpoints of child advocates in all disciplines.
- Journal of Clinical Child PsychologyPeer reviewed articles featureing the research and viewpoints of child advocates in all disciplines.
Exceptional Children
 |
 |
 |
 |
- Exceptional ChildrenOriginal research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators made on the basis of blind peer review.
- Exceptional Children (Council for Exceptional Children)Articles, research, and papers concerning students who are gifted and disabled.
- Focus on Exceptional ChildrenFeature articles and detailed profiles of exceptional children published as a service to teachers, special educators, curriculum specialists, administrators and those concerned with the special education of exceptional children.
- Gifted Child Today MagazineMagazine for the parents and teachers of gifted, creative, and talented children and youth.
- Journal for the Education of the GiftedOffers information and research on the educational and psychological needs of gifted and talented children.
- Teaching Exceptional ChildrenFeature articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted; an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.
Mathematics & Science
 |
 |
 |
- Scholastic MathMath magazine for general math students ages 12-16 and their teachers. Articles and activities focus on problem solving, math on the job, consumer math, and computation practice.
- Teaching Children MathematicsJournal covering mathematics content and methods for pre-service and in-service teachers of grades pre-kindergarten through 6th.
Rights & Legal Issues
 |
 |
 |
- Brigham Young University Education and Law JournalArticles, review articles, commentary and book reviews covering legal topics within the field of education.
- Child Law Practice NewsletterA newsletter for lawyers, judges, and other child advocacy professionals. Features practical articles and monthly case law updates to enhance legal representation of children and families.
- Child Protection Law ReportA monthly journal for professionals working in child protective services, agencies, law firms, law enforcement, schools, and health care. Covers developments in child abuse and neglect prevention, federal and state funding for child welfare, foster care, juvenile delinquent rehabilitation, mental health services, grants and funding opportunities, case studies, and legal analysis.
- Journal of the Center for Children and the CourtsThe Journal of the Center for Children and the Courts
is a periodical dedicated to publishing a full spectrum of viewpoints on issues regarding children, families, and the interplay between these parties and the courts. Focusing on issues of national importance, the journal encourages a dialogue for improving judicial policy in California. - The International Journal of Children's RightsCovers law, legal and political theory, psychology, psychiatry, educational theory, sociology, social administration and social work, health, social anthropology, economics, theology, and history to further children's rights in the world.
- Special Education Law MonthlySpecial Education Law Monthly covers court decisions and administrative rulings affecting the education of students with disabilities. Each issue begins with a brief overview of the case summaries covered - allowing you to quickly focus on the decisions and hearings that affect you the most
Social Work & Welfare
|
|
 |
 |
- Child & Family Social WorkConcerned with research, theory, policy and practice in the field of social work with children and their families.
- Child and Adolescent Social Work JournalOriginal articles for clinical social workers. Includes theory, research, and, social policy issues.
- Child WelfareArticles on any aspect of administration, supervision, casework, group work, community organization, teaching, research or interpretation that extends knowledge in any child-family welfare or related service.
- Children's GeographiesCovers issues that impact upon the geographical worlds of children and young people under the age of 25 and of their families.
- Children's VoicePresents feature stories as well as articles addressing the practical need of its readers as caring front-line professionals, agency executives, foster and adoptive parents, and child and family advocates.
- Journal of Child and Family StudiesResearch articles and book reviews dealing with identification, prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of emotional disorders in children and adolescents.
- Journal of Child CustodyProvides access to the ideas, opinions & experiences of leading experts in the field & keeps the reader up-to-date with the latest developments in the field as well as discussions elucidating complex legal & psychological issues.
- Journal of Child Sexual AbuseResearch articles about treatment and program innovations for social service and psychology professionals.
- Reclaiming Children and YouthInterdisciplinary journal networking practitioners and policy leaders from diverse backgrounds who serve children and youth in conflict with self, family, school and community. Articles blend research with practical wisdom and a holistic perspective.
Special Education
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
- British Journal of Special EducationCovers the whole range of learning difficulties relating to children in mainstream and special schools. Particular emphasis on reviews of books, software and other resources; international, national and local policy and practice.
- California Special Education AlertCalifornia Special Education Alert delivers practical articles and expert analysis on special education news and issues from California and across the nation.
- Journal of Special EducationA multidisciplinary publication presenting primary research and scholarly reviews related to special education.
- Massachusetts Special Education ReporterPublished quarterly since 1995, Massachusetts Special Education Reporter (MSER) includes all written decisions of the Bureau of Special Education Appeals. In addition, MSER provides insightful quarterly commentary on BSEA and appellate-level decisions, from both a school-district and a student/parent perspective.
- Topics in Early Childhood Special EducationArticles, review articles, commentary and book reviews that focus on different aspects of early childhood special education. Topics include staff development, technical assistance, intervention programs, research and practice in early intervention.
Useful Handout
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
|
|
Peer Reviewed Content |
|
|
United States Government Document or Publication |
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.