CSS101: College Success Strategies (Loggains)
CSS101: Loggains
Getting Started
BCC Libraries have created a full subject guide on Using Newspapers for Research, which will open in a new window. If you already feel comfortable with library databases, you may want to jump right in and get started on your own! Below is a list with links to the databases we subscribe to that offer access to major national and regional newspapers. Remember, when accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your 14-digit BCC ID number (if you have an older ID there is a # on the back of your card starting with 22777), if you have a newer ID use 22777 + 900#.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull-text of The New York Times from 1985- searchable as a standalone file.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- ProQuest Platform (Power Search) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text coverage for the following Proquest databases: Boston Globe (1980 - current), Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Boston Globe (1872 - 1988), .ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2016), and The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
Introduction to the LLC
New York Times Online
For directions to set up a New York Times Online account click on the photo above