Skip to main content

CSS101: College Success Strategies (Loggains): Article Databases

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

Librarian's Tip: Make use of article databases as sources for quality information!

Use a periodical database to find articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Not sure how a database works? The box to your right offers some general tips that apply to most library databases. A complete, alphabetical listing of BCC's databases provides a description of each and the subject matter covered. Below is a selection of databases which are useful for general academic research. For information on accessing national and regional newspapers for research, see the next section from the pull-down menu in this library orientation.

Chat

BCC librarians are available to help you with your research. We provide guidance in locating information and using resources available through the library and on the internet.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.


If a librarian is online, use the window above to chat live. A librarian is available to chat during normal business hours.

You can also use our off-line form, and a librarian will email you back with answers and suggestions. You will receive a reply within 2 business days.

Surefire Search Strategies for Article Databases

Sample Search: Academic Search Premier

Library Hours

 

Fall River Campus
774-357-2105

Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Saturday
CLOSED

Sunday
CLOSED

New Bedford Campus
774-357-4009

Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday
CLOSED

Sunday
CLOSED

Attleboro Campus
774-357-3745

Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday
CLOSED

Sunday
CLOSED

Taunton Center
774-357-4001

Monday - Thursday
10:00am - 4:00pm

Friday
CLOSED

Saturday
CLOSED

Sunday
CLOSED