Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Occupational Therapy Assistant: Articles

This guide will help you to navigate many of the resources and services available to you through the BCC Libraries.

How to Read a Scientific Article

What is a database record?

Online Databases

Databases are the first place to look for articles. Databases usually have information about an article (such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine in which the article appeared) and they may also contain a summary (abstract) of the article.Some databases have a complete copy of the articles (called full text). In this case there is a link to an HTML or PDF document. When accessing the databases from off campus you will need to log in. use your 22777 number found on the back of your Access BCC card.

For a compelete listing of health databases click here.

Using Databases

What is a library database?

A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains articles and information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books.

Article Databases

An article database enables you to search through thousands (sometimes millions) of different magazines, journals and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic.Some of the articles you will find are Full Text, which means you can read (or print out) the entire article right there online. Other times the database will only provide you with an abstract, or summary of the article. Other times, the database will only give you acitation, which tells you where you can find a print version of the article.

Reference Databases

Reference Databases provide reference information (facts, statistics, background information) from many different print sources. For example, we subscribe to Encyclopedia Britannica Online, which is an online version of the 29-volume set of print encyclopedias. Reference Databases are usually more subject-specific than the article databases, so that each one covers something like Art, Music, Law, Literature, or Science & Technology, to name a few.

Databases are not "internet" sources

Although you access our databases from the internet, the articles you find in them are reprinted from real live print sources. Most of the things you find in our database cannot be found by searching Google or Wikipedia. These are subscription services that the library pays for.

You must login to use these databases from off-campus

Because these subscription services are paid for by the library, you can use them from any BCC computer on campus and you won't have to login. But if you are trying to access these from an off-campus computer (from home, or work, or Bangladesh), you will have to login to prove that you are associated with BCC. You do this by entering the bar code number located on the back of your BCC access ID. ( Hint: It will usually start with a 22777 number)