PSY255: Abnormal Psychology (Devane)
What is Peer Review?
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
Bristol Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate articles from magazines, newspapers, professional and scholarly journals. Magazine and newspaper articles are shorter in length and easier to read, but at the same time, they seldom cover an issue in depth. Use them to gain basic familiarity and then move on to academic-level articles. What do academic articles provide?
- A close look at a particular topic or issue
- Content authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Data to support research findings
In addition, academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies (works cited). If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Use Search Everything first!
Tutorial for using Search Everything on the Library Learning Commons website:
Using the Tools in Search Everything:
Science and Social Science Databases
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowScience Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.