PSY255: Abnormal Psychology (Devane): Reference Resources
What is a Reference Resource?
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept; a general overview of a topic; specific information about a certain period of time or event in history. For your research assignment, gaining foundational knowledge on your topic will inform you on areas in which researchers are exploring relevant issues and help you to evaluate more scholarly sources.
eReference Sources
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new windowMedical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985 – present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Credo Reference, Gale eBooks, Wikipedia
Print Reference Resources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) by Call Number: REF RC 455.2 C4 D54 2013Publication Date: 2013This new edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
