HST259: History of North American Native Peoples (Worthington)

Meta Site

founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.

Troy Johnson, professor of American Indian Studies at California State University, maintains this site that provides a rich array of links to sites related to Native Americans, including education, historical, and tribal links. It includes unique artwork, photographs, video, and sound recordings of the Native Americans in North America and also includes Indian people of Central America and Mexico.

Compiled by a librarian, this site provides links to a variety of information related to Indians in the United States, Canada, and Latin America. It includes links to digital texts, images, history resources, and regional information.

Despite some distracting advertisements, this site offers links related to a variety of topics, including gaming, education, law, health, and a blog that is not updated frequently but does discuss new resources related to Native Americans. A lot of these resources will help both Native American populations and researchers.

Mainly providing information on contemporary Native American authors, this IPL site contains bibliographies, biographical information and links to interviews, online texts and tribal Web sites. Resources are organized by author, title, and tribal name.

This commercial site showcases the work of Native American artists. It also offers links to art show information, tribes, news, and travel information. Artist pages include photos of featured artwork, and they frequently include an artist’s biography.

The online version of the print magazine that covers the arts and cultural lives of Native Americans

resource rich in information related to all aspects of Native American art, including beadwork, pottery, games, toys, food, and leatherwork. The site includes articles and links to poetry, stories, recipes, and a tour of a woodland homestead. Many photos and other images accompany the subjects featured. The focus of this site is on Eastern Woodland Indian peoples but information on tribes from other regions is also available.

There are more than 800 surviving Native American languages linked to more than 800 tribes in North, Central, and South America. This nonprofit site addresses all of them with informative learning aids like maps locating the tribes in each state, picture dictionaries, pronunciation guides, grants, and much more. Occasionally resources for teachers (such as word search puzzles) are included. Unfortunately the advertisements on each site are distracting, but the quality and quantity of information is worth scrolling past the commercial ads.

Thirty-seven tribal colleges in 14 states were created to foster higher education for Indians living on reservations or in geographically isolated regions and to promote tribal self-determination. Locations, chartering tribes, and accreditation status are listed.

The National Library of Medicine generated this portal consisting of links to consumer health, medical resources, policies, research studies, and more. Specific medical conditions as related to American Indians include cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and substance abuse. Traditional healing methods are included like herbal medicines, massage, healing ceremonies, and spirituality, as well as allopathic treatments. Information on clinical trials, health organizations, and directories can be found here.

Under the auspices of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services this site was created for American Indians and Native Alaskans. It includes fact sheets on specific diseases, medical programs (delivered on site and via telemedicine), searchable directories of clinics, and research projects.

Charles J. Kappler compiled this primary source of Indian Treaties. Seven volumes of Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (United States Government Treaties (volume II) and laws and executive orders (volumes I, III–VII) from 1778 to 1970) have been digitized to provide the most comprehensive source for permanent laws related to Indian affairs. The index is fully searchable.

A joint project of the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and various Native American tribes, this site provides access to constitutions, tribal codes, and other documents, including treaties and research guides. It also includes the full-text of the Handbook of Federal Indian Law published in 1941 and links to other related sites.

BIA was established in 1824 to provide services, such as land management, education, social services, job training, and administration of tribal courts. Historically, this agency had adopted controversial policies that have included suppression of Indian rights, cultural genocide, and policing responsibilities. However, today, they have moved from a supervisory role to an advisory role and have hired Indians within their ranks. While approximately 570 tribes are recognized, the criteria exclude some bands.