HST259: History of North American Native Peoples (Worthington): Articles & Databases
Researching Articles using Databases
ARTICLES & DATABASES
Academic journal articles are often the "gold standard" for academic research. Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field, they provide a close look at a particular topic, and often provide data to support their findings. If you find a good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research. You find these articles in our databases which index hundreds of thousands journal articles, magazine articles, news articles, and reports.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals CollectionPartnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), EBSCO provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 in fifty subject-based thematic subsets.
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers is a collection of newspapers, ranging from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, which together explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProviding full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
Why use scholarly articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
- Register with the Boston Public LibraryConnect to hundreds of additional databases through the Boston Public Library.