Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: Medical Laboratory Technology: Start Here

Medical Laboratory Technology

Bristol LLC Search

Search Everything
Journal Look-Up

Journal Title Look-Up
Search our physical and database journals by title.

Recommended Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Provides patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985 – present.
Coronavirus Research Database
The Coronavirus Research Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. This database brings together not only content from open-access journals, but also pre-prints and additional content being made freely available by major publishers from around the world. This versatile content set is designed to help students, researchers, and health care professionals investigate answers to pressing questions arising in the wake of the pandemic. The database will continue to grow as more is learned and new content is published.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
Health & Medicine (Gale)
This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
This tutorial will show you how to use Gales Health & Wellness Resource Center to easily find ad-free authoritative health information to put your mind at ease: https://support.gale.com/doc/hwrc-video1
Health Source: Consumer Edition
One of the richest collections of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 300 full text consumer health periodicals. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 129 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Clinical Pharmacology, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Coverage: 1975 – present.
ICE Video Library
Provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical and occupational therapy curriculum. With unlimited access to streaming videos of real-life patient assessment and intervention. All ICE videos are professionally filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Online subscription provided by the Occupational Therapy Department.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Nursing and Allied Health OneFile (Gale)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile (Gale)
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Quick Links

Book-A-Librarian Set up an appointment with a librarian for an hour of 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be via Zoom, chat, phone, or email!
Tutoring & Writing Services Set up an appointment with a tutor for 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be online or in person.
Brainfuse Need course-content tutoring when Bristol's tutors aren't available? Try Brainfuse! Bristol students get up to ten free hours of live tutoring per term, as well as unlimited free use of the non-live features under "Academic Tools" (such as SkillSurfer and eParachute).