It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A step by step guide to doing industry research in academic databases.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.
Search for demographics, businesses, or people in the Demographics Now database. Access a demographic report on any geography – or compare multiple geographies - for information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more. Search for an individual company or create a mailing list of multiple companies from over 20 million active businesses. Search for an individual, a friend, a relative or create a market research list from over 206 million people and 135 million households!
Delivers private and public United States and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executives and industry profiles. Provides contact information for over 250 million United States consumers and shows job listings specific to each company.
Statista is the first statistics portal in the world to integrate data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets
In the boxes on this page you will find links to pages that will provide you with information on your industry. There is a lot of information out there, and a lot of different places to look. I've identified a few government websites that will be helpful.
I have also identified several databases through Bristol Community College and the Boston Public Library that will be useful for Industry Research. Again, there is a tutorial on the far left side of the screen to walk you through the research, step by step.