PSY101: General Psychology (Devane)
Research Exercise: Identifying Components of Experimental Studies
What is a DOI?
From the APA Style Blog
A DOI, or digital object identifier, is like a social security number for a document online. It’s a unique and permanent identifier that will take you straight to a document no matter where it’s located on the Internet. You can read more about DOIs on pp. 188–192 of the 6th edition of the Publication Manual as well as in our FAQ on DOIs. They figure prominently in the 6th edition reference citation style.
Ask the LLC
How to Read Scholarly Articles
Tutorial Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Academic Search Premier Tutorial
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate articles from magazines, newspapers, professional and scholarly journals. Magazine and newspaper articles are shorter in length and easier to read, but at the same time, they seldom cover an issue in depth. Use them to gain basic familiarity and then move on to academic-level articles. What do academic articles provide?
- A close look at a particular topic or issue
- Content authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Data to support research findings
In addition, academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies (works cited). If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
What is Peer Review?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleThis tutorial, from North Carolina State University, presents a sample scholarly article section by section, identifying the information you can expect to find in each.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Science and Social Science Databases
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowScience Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
ScienceDirect College Edition Tutorial
Using Science Direct Remotely
Follow these steps to request remote access for your account:
- Go to the ScienceDirect main page.
- Click 'Remote access’ in the footer of the page. The ‘Apply for remote access’ dialog displays.
- Enter your email address and click 'Continue’.
- You may be requested to select your organisation if more than one account or organization is associated with your email address.
- If you are not registered in ScienceDirect, the registration page displays.
Either register for an account with ScienceDirect and click ‘Register’ or click ‘Continue without registering’. - You will receive an email with a remote access activation link. Click the link to activate your account.
After completing these steps:
- You may be prompted to sign in.
- You will have remote access for 180 days to your account.
- Your access will automatically be extended each time you sign into your account.
- You may need to repeat this process, if you do not sign in to ScienceDirect for a long time.