Psychology: Start Here
Psychology
Welcome
Welcome to the BCC Libraries' Psychology research guide. This guide provides quick access to resources (books, articles, videos, and more) that will assist you in your research.
Psychology
Bristol LLC Search
-
Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
Recommended Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education literature and resources, giving full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
-
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new windowScience Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
-
Tutorial: Academic Search CompleteThis is a tutorial on how to search the EBSCO Host database Academic Search Complete. This database has the exact interface as SocINDEX with Full Text, another EBSCO Host database. Once you have watched the tutorial you will be able to search SocINDEX without any trouble.
Quick Links
-
Book-A-Librarian Set up an appointment with a librarian for an hour of 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be via Zoom, chat, phone, or email!
-
Tutoring & Writing Services Set up an appointment with a tutor for 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be online or in person.
-
Brainfuse Need course-content tutoring when Bristol's tutors aren't available? Try Brainfuse! Bristol students get up to ten free hours of live tutoring per term, as well as unlimited free use of the non-live features under "Academic Tools" (such as SkillSurfer and eParachute).
Other Helpful Links:
Research Topic Suggestions
- Impact of social media on mental health
- Different parenting styles and their role on development
- The relationship between adverse childhood experiences and adult risk-seeking behavior
- The use of virtual reality technology in the treatment of phobias and PTSD
- The impact of cultural mistrust on the diagnosis and treatment of mental health issues in culturally-diverse populations
- Ethical considerations of the use of AI in forensic psychology in the legal system
- Common reasons people engage in cyberbullying
- Neurological pain and its connection to mental health disorders
- The risks and benefits of prescription insomnia medications
- Ketamine treatment for depression and anxiety
- The impact of marijuana on early-onset psychosis
- Rural vs. urban access to mental health resources