Psychology: Reference Resources
PSY 101 Devane
Reference Resources
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, etc.) are essential to research. They provide quick facts, statistics, and topical overviews that may not be found elsewhere. Below is a sample of the BCC libraries' psychology related reference books. Those in print format do not leave the library. Those online require an active BCC ID.
Chat
chat loading...
eReference Resources
Accessing the following titles from an off campus location requires an active 900 number. These are online resources (E-Books) that you can Read Right Now!
- Child DevelopmentCovers human development from conception through adolescence, summarizing the latest research on physical, cognitive, social and emotional development and behavior, including areas of law, medicine, psychiatry, and demography among others.
- The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism. - The DSM-5 in Action
By demystifying the DSM-5, author Sophia Dziegielewski goes beyond the traditional diagnostic assessment and suggests both treatment plans and practice strategy. She covers the changes in criteria to the DSM-5 and what those changes mean for mental health professionals. - Encyclopedia of Adolescence
This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society. - Encyclopedia of Consciousness
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states. - The Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyThis resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
- Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology. - Key Thinkers in Psychology
Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology. - Psychologists and Their Theories for StudentsPerfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.
- Violence in American SocietyThis encyclopedia is a one-stop resource for exploring the history, societal factors, and current dimensions of violence in America in all its forms, from the nation's founding to modern-day trends, laws, viewpoints, and media depictions. Providing a nuanced lens through which to view violence, including its underlying causes, its iterations, and possible solutions, this work offers broad, authoritative coverage. For students, law enforcement, and school administrators.
