ENG101: College Writing (Spremulli)
Why Scholarly Articles Are Important
Scholarly articles are research articles that are published and related to an academic field. Peer-reviewed articles are published articles that were reviewed by a journal prior to being published. The authors of these articles are researchers in their field.
It is important to perform scholarly research to ensure that your sources are trustworthy, credible and written by an author with the authority to speak on the topic! Scholarly research is unbiased, informative, and reliable. Scholarly research is supported with evidence and data.
Recommended Databases
Scholarly articles can be retrieved in our databases!
The databases listed below are recommended for the assignments in this course:
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
- General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database includes access to articles in nearly 10,200 titles, 6,000 of which offer full text of their contents. More than 3,000 scholarly journals are included in this count as well as 121 newswire services and five newspaper indexes. General interest and news magazines; academic journals, business and technology publications, law journals, health care periodicals, and newspapers are all made accessible through this OneFile. Coverage: 1980 – present.
- Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new windowAssociates Programs Source Plus is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing thousands of full-text journals and books, plus country reports and market research reports, it covers the most relevant subjects, including biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, overviews or 75,000 frequently studied works, and over 30,000 poems, short stories and plays. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select, an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers.
