CRJ101.B4W: Fall River Police Department (Jackson): Project 3
Researching Articles using Databases
EMPOWERING YOUNG GIRLS TO COMBAT DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
This page will help you research Project 3. Sources here will help you identify statistics on domestic violence in southeastern Massachusetts as well as articles regarding successful strategies for young women.
Context: Domestic violence is prevalent in Fall River, with many women staying in abusive relationships due to a lack of education and fear of being unable to support themselves or their children.
Objective: Empower young girls by building their confidence and providing trusted mentorship. This involves educating them in life skills beyond academic qualifications, such as basic car maintenance, home repairs, finding services, and securing employment.
Proposed Initiative: FRPD would like to establish a mentoring group comprising female police officers and young women in the city to address these needs.
Statistics
- Intimate Partner Violence StatisticsIntimate partner violence (IPV) is abuse or aggression that occurs in a romantic relationship. Intimate partner refers to both current and former spouses and dating partners.
- The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS)The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS) is an ongoing survey that collects the most current and comprehensive national- and state-level data on intimate partner violence, sexual violence, and stalking victimization in the United States.
- Intimate Partner Violence Fact SheetWhile legal definitions vary by state, IPV can include physical, sexual, and psychological abuse, as well as economic coercion. IPV affects millions of individuals, regardless of marital status, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, national origin, age, religion, education, or economic status.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
- Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. - Diversity and Ethnic Studies This link opens in a new windowThis groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Subscribe today and get top titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.
- Diversity Studies OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.
