CRJ101.B4W: Fall River Police Department (Jackson): Project 2
Research in Books and Ebooks
YOUTH ENGAGEMENT & GANG/GUN VIOLENCE PREVENTION
This page will help you research Project 2. Sources here will help you identify statistics on gang violence and participation in southeastern Massachusetts as well as articles regarding successful youth engagement programs.
Context: There is a troubling rise in gang and gun violence, as well as general youth violence, in Fall River. We have seen an uptick in juvenile violent attacks.
Objective: To proactively engage with youth to deter them from joining gangs and to build relationships with current gang members. This needs to start at a young age, as many programs only target those over 17 who have been arrested.
Proposed Approach: We aim to educate and positively interact with at-risk youth in less formal settings, which tend to foster better relationships. While our Teen Police Academy has been successful, we are looking to explore additional, less formal program ideas. Seeking information on current, effective anti-gang programs and their positive outcomes, as well as insights into developing new, tailored programs for our area.
Statistics
- Massachusetts Crime StatisticsThe Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) collects NIBRS and UCR data from law enforcement agencies in accordance with the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting Program.
- Massachusetts Violent Death Reporting System (MAVDRS) DataThe Massachusetts Violent Death Reporting System (MAVDRS) collects and links data on all violent deaths within the Commonwealth. It includes detailed information on homicides, suicides, legal intervention deaths, unintentional firearm deaths and deaths of undetermined intent.
- Uniform Crime ReportThe FBI provides consolidated crime reports from across the country on this site. A very useful site for statistics on crime.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
- Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. - Diversity and Ethnic Studies This link opens in a new windowThis groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Subscribe today and get top titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.
- Diversity Studies OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.
