ANS112: Laws & Ethics for Veterinary Science
- Home
- Finding Controversial Issues
- Reference Databases
- Research Databases
- Citing in Harvard
- Book-A-Librarian This link opens in a new window
The FBI
-
The FBI now tracks Cruelty to AnimalsActs of cruelty against animals are now counted alongside felony crimes like arson, burglary, assault, and homicide in the FBI’s expansive criminal database.
-
FBI's Crime Data ExplorerCompare animal cruelty rates by town
Databases For Controversial Issues
Databases might be your best bet to find both sides of a controversial issue. These suggested databases are available through the Bristol Library Learning Commons.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
Animal Rights: News Media Organizations
Finding information about animal rights from credible sources is very important. There are biased organizations that may skew facts or policy in order to persuade or convince you of a specific argument. The sources on this page have been chosen because they are credible, reliable, and trustworthy news sources.
-
Associated Press: Animal RightsArticles about Animal Rights from the Associated Press
-
BBC: Animal RightsArticles from the BBC about Animal Rights.
-
CBS News: Animal CrueltyNews reported by CBS regarding cases of Animal Cruelty
-
New York Times: Animal RightsNews about animal abuse, rights and welfare, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.Bristol Community College Students have access to all corners of the New York Times online. Please see the bottom of this page for information on how to set up access to this site.
-
Reuter's: Animal RightsArticles from Reuter's about Animal Rights.
-
Washington Post: Animal RightsNews articles from the Washington Post about Animal Rights issues.
Animal Rights: Animal Rights Organizations
Animal Rights organizations exist to advocate for the rights of animals. Ensure that any groups of this nature that you consult present their information in unbiased ways, avoid persuasion, and link to credible and trustworthy sources.
-
Animal Legal and Historical CenterOn this site you will find a comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.
-
Animal Legal Defense FundThe Animal Legal Defense Fund files high-impact lawsuits to protect animals from harm, provides free legal assistance and training to prosecutors in their fight against animal cruelty, supports animal protection legislation, and provides resources and opportunities to law students and professionals to advance the field of animal law.
-
DawnWatchThe DawnWatch mission is to encourage mainstream media to cover animal issues well, so that people can make informed lifestyle choices in line with their own true values.
- Last Updated: Sep 16, 2025 8:21 AM
- URL: https://libguides.bristolcc.edu/ANS112
- Print Page