Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: ENG101: College Writing : Surface Research

Finding Information in Encyclopedia Databases

Encyclopedia databases, or "reference" databases, are some of the most useful databases for conduing surface research. They're credible, easy to use, and provide formated citations.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the MasterFILE Premier database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Salem Press eReference titles to find concise, clear articles and information on a variety of topics, including history, medicine, science, and social sciences.