Sociology: Books & Streaming Videos
Poverty and Welfare in America: Examining the Facts
Poverty and Welfare in America: Examining the Facts, like every book in the Contemporary Debates series, is intended to puncture rather than perpetuate myths that diminish our understanding of important policies and positions; to provide needed context for misleading statements and claims; and to confirm the factual accuracy of other assertions.
Women Lifers : Lives Before, Behind, and Beyond Bars
The number of women in United States prisons has increased dramatically since the 1980s, and has in proportion outpaced that of men’s incarceration.
The Remarkable Rise of Transgender Rights
While medical identification and treatment of gender dysphoria have existed for decades, the development of transgender as a "collective political identity" is a recent construct.
Homicide and Violent Crime
This volume of Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance addresses a variety of issues and concerns involved with the study of violent crime and homicide in the contemporary world.
Sociology in America
"Sociology in America" is a true history of an often disparate field and a deeply considered look at the ways sociology developed intellectually and institutionally. It explores the growth of American sociology as it addressed changes and challenges throughout the twentieth century, covering topics ranging from the discipline's intellectual roots to understandings (and misunderstandings) of race and gender to the impact of the Depression and the 1960s. "Sociology in America" will stand as the definitive treatment of the contribution of twentieth-century American sociology and will be required reading for all sociologists.
Streaming Videos
- The History of SociologyThis program traces the history of sociology through the works of such thinkers as Comte, Marx, Weber, and Mead. It covers major sociological movements and features leading sociologists discussing contemporary social challenges. 31:54
- Introducing Sociology: What is Sociology, Core ConceptsThis program highlights the key concepts, problems, and processes that comprise the study of sociology, focusing on culture and socialization.
- The UniversityNarratives thread together in The University a film following the aftermath of a sexual assault on a college campus. Told through the stories recounted to a Title IX tribunal, The University asks what justice might look like for survivors.
Recommended Databases for Locating Encyclopedias, eBooks, and Streaming Videos
- Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new windowChoose from 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. ProQuest Ebook Central offers titles from hundreds of trusted publishers on one modern, intuitive platform. Its mobile-optimized design lets researchers get “anytime access” to the content they need – from a single chapter to an entire book.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCollections of eBooks available via EBSCOhost.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Quick Links
- Book-A-Librarian Set up an appointment with a librarian for an hour of 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be via Zoom, chat, phone, or email!
- Tutoring & Writing Services Set up an appointment with a tutor for 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be online or in person.
- Brainfuse Need course-content tutoring when Bristol's tutors aren't available? Try Brainfuse! Bristol students get up to ten free hours of live tutoring per term, as well as unlimited free use of the non-live features under "Academic Tools" (such as SkillSurfer and eParachute).
Other Helpful Links:
Print Books
Alienated America: Why Some Places Thrive While Others Collapse by Call Number: HM 821 C37 2019ISBN: 9780062797100Publication Date: 2019Carney visits all corners of America, from the dim country bars of southwestern Pennsylvania to the bustling Mormon wards of Salt Lake City, and provides the most important data and research to explain why failing social connections are responsible for the great divide in America... Carney will change the way you look at the challenges facing modern America and present a framework for leading us out of the wilderness.
American Like Me by Call Number: E 184 A1 A63625 2019ISBN: 9781501180927Publication Date: 2019-09-03America Ferrera has always felt wholly American, and yet, her identity is inextricably linked to her parents' homeland and Honduran culture. Speaking Spanish at home, having Saturday-morning-salsa-dance-parties in the kitchen, and eating tamales alongside apple pie at Christmas never seemed at odds with her American identity. Still, she yearned to see that identity reflected in the larger American narrative. Now, in American Like Me, America invites thirty-one of her friends, peers, and heroes to share their stories about life between cultures.
Logged in and Stressed Out by Call Number: HM 742 D875 2020ISBN: 9781538126677Publication Date: 2020Social media is here to stay, and Logged In and Stressed Out presents the right information and tools to improve our lives through examining and changing our digital habits.
Theoretical Sociology by Call Number: HM 435 T98 2014ISBN: 9781452203478Publication Date: 2014What can sociological theory tell us about the basic forces that shape our world? With clarity and authority, leading theorist Jonathan H. Turner seeks to answer this question through a brief, yet in-depth examination of twelve major sociological theories. Readers are given an opportunity to explore the foundational premise of each theory and key elements that make it distinctive.
