Skip to Main Content

OTA 235: How to Find Qualitative and Quantitative studies

Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.

5 Qualitative Research Methods

Simple Searching Tips

You can use our library's databases to search for these kinds of research studies:

Try adding "qualitative" or "quantitative" to your keywords when you're searching. For example:
- nutrition AND qualitative
- nutrition AND quantitative

If you have a particular research methodology in mind (e.g. survey, experiment, case study, etc.) you can include keywords to describe it in your search. For example:
- dieting AND survey
- marijuana AND controlled trial

Definitions

Case study	Attempts to shed light on a phenomena by studying indepth a single case example of the phenomena. The case can be an individual person, an event, a group, or an institution.
Grounded theory	To understand the social and psychological processes that characterize an event or situation.
Phenomenology	Describes the structures of experience as they present themselves to consciousness, without recourse to theory, deduction, or assumptions from other disciplines
Ethnography	Focuses on the sociology of meaning through close field observation of sociocultural phenomena. Typically, the ethnographer focuses on a community.
Historical	Systematic collection and objective evaluation of data related to past occurrences in order to test hypotheses concerning causes, effects, or trends of these events that may help to explain present events and anticipate future events. (Gay, 1996)