Science vs. Pseudoscience: Debunking Fake Science News and Developing Scientific Literacy
Use Library Databases to Find Research Articles
The Bristol CC Library subscribes to several databases that include the full text of scientific research studies. To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password:
General Science
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
- Science In Context This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Environmental Science
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Health Science
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Providing full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search citations and abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
- Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health & Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.
Different Types of Scientific Studies
Learn to Identify and Read Scholarly Materials
- How to Read a Scientific PaperClick on this Tutorial to find out how to read scholarly articles.
Use Google Scholar to Find Research Articles
Google Scholar is designed to find information about scholarly articles and books in all fields, including the sciences. It is a great place to explore the range of information available on a topic, but the sources you find may not be freely available on the internet. Instead, Google Scholar often links to publishers' websites, where you will be asked to pay for the full text of an article. You can also link to your library through Settings, so you can find sources Bristol does own. And if our library does not have it, don't worry, you can request nearly any article through the library for free. Ask a librarian for help.
See the Google Scholar About page for more information, including search tips.
Linking Google Scholar to the Library Website
You can link Google Scholar to your library website:
1. Go to Google Scholar by using Google.
2. Click on the lines in the upper left hand corner.
3. Go to Settings
4. Click on Library Links
5. Type in Bristol Community College and it will link any of the articles we have in our databases to Google Scholar. Make sure to hit Save to keep those settings for the next time you use Google Scholar.
