Skip to main content

SOC101: Principles of Sociology (Cicero): Articles & Databases

Finding Articles at BCC Libraries

BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles.  The databases below have been chosen especially for research for SOC101.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

 

Image "Reading a Scholarly Article"  published by Brandeis Library (CC by NC-SA).

Recommended Databases

What is Peer Reviewed?

 

Click on this link to watch a short video:

What is Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Why should I look for academic articles?

Why should you do research in academic journals?

  • Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
  • Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
  • Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
  • Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.

Boolean Operators

 

Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT):

  • Use AND to narrow your search. For example, using "adolesence AND anxiety" will find articles with both terms, giving your more specific results.
  • Use OR to broaden your results, such as using "adolesence OR teen" will find articles with either term, giving you more results.
  • Use NOT to filter out results with terms you don't need. For example "adolescence NOT child" will filter out articles with the term "child".

Truncation (*): The "*" replaces any number of characters and will find all forms of a word root. For example, "therap*" will find therapies, therapies, therapist, therapists, theraputic, therapeutically, etc.

Wildcard (#): The "#" replaces extra charactors that may appear in alternative spellings. For example, "colo#r" finds both color and colour.

Wildcard (?): The "?" replaces one character. For example, "ne?t" finds neat, nest, or next, but will not find not.

Phrase ("  "): Enclosing two or more words in quotation marks "   " tells the database to look for those words in that exact order, without other words in between.  Most, but not all, databases recognize this command.