Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: Opioid Abuse and Addiction: Article Databases

Scholarly and Popular Press Articles

Learn about recent research on opioid abuse and addiction by searching these article databases brought to you by the BCC Libraries. If searching the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your 14-digit ID number found on the back of your BCC Campus Card. Once you select a database, type specific key words in the search box like "opioid addiction" or "opioid abuse" or "opioid dependence".

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
This tutorial shows you how to narrow a research topic within Academic OneFile: https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Get Link tool found in many Gale resources to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video5
This tutorial shows you how to use Citation Tools found in many Gale resources to simplify the research process: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Topic Finder found in many Gale resources to analyze search results and create a unique research topic: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video6
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985 – present.
Health & Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This multi-source database integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Most of these sources provide the full text of the article/chapter. Find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Coverage: 1980 – present.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
One of the richest collections of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 300 full text consumer health periodicals. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 129 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Clinical Pharmacology, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Nursing and Allied Health OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Documentary Films

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.