ENG101: College Writing (Anderson) Summer 2025
Why Scholarly Articles Are Important
Scholarly articles are articles that were published by an expert in the field about a topic in the field. Peer-reviewed articles are scholarly articles that were reviewed by panel of experts in the field prior to being published by the journal. The authors of peer-reviewed articles are also experts/researchers in their field.
It is important to perform scholarly research to ensure that your sources are trustworthy, credible and written by an author with the authority to speak on the topic! Scholarly research is unbiased, informative, and reliable. Scholarly research is supported with evidence and data.
Tutorial Academic Search Complete
Recommended Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
-
News OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Global data and business intelligence database with a collection of statistics, reports and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Useful for discovering quantitative data about a subject.
