ENG101: College Writing (Beaulieu-Smith): Articles & Databases
Researching Articles using Databases
ARTICLES & DATABASES
Academic journal articles are often the "gold standard" for academic research. Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field, they provide a close look at a particular topic, and often provide data to support their findings. If you find a good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research. You find these articles in our databases which index hundreds of thousands journal articles, magazine articles, news articles, and reports.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowAccess World News delivers valuable information for academic research and coursework across the curriculum including history, political science, criminal justice, health sciences, finance, DEI and more. News brings classroom learning to life, adding real world context to make assignments more relevant.
Because the topics covered by news media are so diverse, this relevant primary source content supports students and faculty seeking information on current and historical issues, events, and people. - Black Life in America (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowBlack Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this multi-disciplinary resource is crucial for the study and interpretation of historical and current events.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProviding full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
- Diversity and Ethnic Studies This link opens in a new windowThis groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Subscribe today and get top titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.
- Diversity Studies OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDesigned for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Environmental Studies and Policy OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThe Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
- Gender Studies OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and pamphlets. Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles, 300 of which are full text. Also provides the full text of over 240 pamphlets.
- New York Times (NYT) Online Edition This link opens in a new windowNow Access the New York Times Online (digital) Edition! No more paywalls, access the NYT in real time, online. You will be asked to create an account, CLICK HERE for instructions and video instructions.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
- Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new windowWith hundreds of full-text, scholarly journals, Religion & Philosophy Collection provides an in-depth collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.
- War and Terrorism OneFile This link opens in a new windowWar and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Why use scholarly articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.