Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: Animal Science: Start Here

Animal Science

Bristol LLC Search

Search Everything
Journal Look-Up

Journal Title Look-Up
Search our physical and database journals by title.

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
This tutorial shows you how to narrow a research topic within Academic OneFile: https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Get Link tool found in many Gale resources to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video5
This tutorial shows you how to use Citation Tools found in many Gale resources to simplify the research process: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Topic Finder found in many Gale resources to analyze search results and create a unique research topic: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video6
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Medical database providing full text for over 100 journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed, scholarly publications. (Some titles have indexing and abstracts only for earlier years.) Virtually every area of medical study is covered, including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985 – present.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Veterinary Sciences
Veterinary Sciences is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed, open access journal on veterinary sciences published monthly online by MDPI.

Quick Links

Book-A-Librarian Set up an appointment with a librarian for an hour of 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be via Zoom, chat, phone, or email!
Tutoring & Writing Services Set up an appointment with a tutor for 1-on-1 help. Appointments can be online or in person.
Brainfuse Need course-content tutoring when Bristol's tutors aren't available? Try Brainfuse! Bristol students get up to ten free hours of live tutoring per term, as well as unlimited free use of the non-live features under "Academic Tools" (such as SkillSurfer and eParachute).