ENG101.T27: College Writing (Zuber): Where do I begin?
Research
Use this guide to help you get started in the research process. Use the links located at the side of this page as well as the tab tops at the top. There is also a quick search bar lcoated in the top right hand corner of the guide. You can search using the drop down menu the library catalog or the databases.
Step 1 is creating your topic or research question!
Choosing a Topic
Using the sources below can sometimes be a good place to start if you are unsure of what exactly you are going to discuss in your research paper. For instance, for your assignment, you are looking for information about a controversial topic or complex issue.
Maybe you are thinking about the topic of college is not for everyone.
What kind of information would you need to find? The articles shared on the homepage of this guide are a good place to start, but you will need to find other sources to create different search terms for searching in the databases. You might start looking at Gallup News or Pew Research Center where they generate research reports and articles about many social issues. Head to Gallup News, find the header with topics, choose Education, There is an article titled "Half in U.S. Now Consider College Education Very Important" -what ideas can you get from reading this? Those ideas can become your keywords.
This is just one example of how to use the sources below to start your thinking about your topic.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is a collection of weekly research reports on recent news topics.
- Credo ReferenceCredo is an online library where you can find the full text of hundreds of reference collections.
- GallupGallup delivers analytics and advice to help leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems. Combining more than 80 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of employees, customers, students and citizens than any other organization in the world.
- Google NewsGoogle collects up-to-the-minute news links from around the Web and categorizes them. You can look at articles about the World, U.S., Business, Sci-Tech, Entertainment, Sports, Health and more. Browse to find ideas.
- NPR Research NewsResearch news for lay people.
- Opposing ViewpointsAn online database that explores opposing sides of the most important issues.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Map it!
Mapping out your topic can be a highly effective organizational tool. Begin with your broad topic in the center of the map. After gathering some background information from an encyclopedia and a web site or two, add some subtopics directly off the main topic, as shown below, in the green bubbles. These are different 'lenses,' through which to view the larger topic. The concepts extending from there (blue bubbles) can help you refine your topic and determine what aspect you want to focus your research on. It's important to note that the parameters of your assignment will also help you determine how broad, or narrow your topic should be. See the box below for examples of turning your topic into a research question.
Web links to get you started
- Assignment CalculatorFigure out exactly how long your assignment will take. You will not be able to utilize the reminder feature, but the dates given for each part of the research process are provided when you insert the due date.
- Choosing a Topic: A Step by Step GuideAn easy to use web guide on how to put together your paper.
- How to Write a Research paperThis handout provides detailed information about how to write research papers including discussing research papers as a genre, choosing topics, and finding sources.