Roe vs. Wade: Research Resources
Selected Print Books
Before Roe V. Wade by Call Number: KF 3771 B44 2010ISBN: 1607146711Publication Date: 2010-06-01Decades after the landmark Roe v. Wade decision, abortion remains a polarizing topic on America's political landscape. Blending history, culture, and law, Before Roe v. Wade explores the roots of that conflict, reconstructing the rise of the pro-choice and pro-life movements and recovering the voices that helped shape the climate that sparked the Supreme Court's 1973 decision.
I Am Roe by Call Number: HQ 1413 M34 A3 1994ISBN: 0060170107Publication Date: 1994-04-01"Norma McCorvey's story is that of a woman both ordinary and extraordinary, whose private anguish blossomed into a public triumph for all American women in the battle for reproductive freedom."
Abuse of Discretion by Call Number: KF 3771 F67 2013ISBN: 9781594036927Publication Date: 2013-09-24Based on 20 years of research, including an examination of the papers of eight of the nine Justices who voted inRoe v. Wade andDoe v. Bolton,Abuse of Discretion is a critical review of the behind-the-scenes deliberations that went into the Supreme Court's abortion decisions and how the mistakes made by the Justices in 1971-1973 have led to the turmoil we see today in legislation, politics, and public health.
Compelling Interest by Call Number: KF 228 R59 R47 2012ISBN: 9781618431134Publication Date: 2012-11-01Is a fetus a person? Is "pro-choice" a neutral position? For 40 years since the landmark Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision, the abortion debate has been highly charged and politicized. Questions like these--and passionate but widely varying answers--have become the common language of the public dialogue on this issue.
Selected e-Books
After Roe by Call Number: E-Book Read Right NowISBN: 9780674286269Publication Date: 2015-06-15In the decade after the 1973 Supreme Court decision on abortion, advocates on both sides sought common ground. But as pro-abortion and anti-abortion positions hardened over time into pro-choice and pro-life, the myth was born that Roe v. Wade was a ruling on a woman's right to choose. Mary Ziegler's account offers a corrective.
Abortion and Social Responsibility by Call Number: E-book Read Right NowISBN: 9780198034940Publication Date: 2003-01-01Shrage argues that Roe v Wade's regulatory scheme of a six-month time span for abortion on demand polarized the public and obscured alternatives with potentially broader support. She explores the origins of that scheme, then defends an alternate one--with a time span shorter than 6 months for non-therapeutic abortions--that could win broad support needed to make legal abortion services available to all women.
Reproductive Rights by Call Number: E-Book Read Right NowISBN: 9781467788045Publication Date: 2016-01-01Disputes over contraception, sex education, and abortion continue to roil the nation, leading to controversial legal and political rulings and occasionally violence. As society changes--and as new reproductive technologies expand the possibilities for controlling and initiating pregnancy--Americans will continue to debate reproductive rights for all.
Beyond Choice by Call Number: ebook - Read Right NowISBN: 9781586486136Publication Date: 2005-07-06In Beyond Choice Sanger explores the history of the reproductive rights movement to discover how it got stuck in its thinking, and then provides a convincing new argument for the moral rightness of its cause.
Article Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProviding full text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 456 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- Nursing and Allied Health OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAll aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
Web Resources
- Oyez.comOyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.
- Pew Research Center - Supreme Court"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
- SCOTUS Blog (SCOTUSblog)"SCOTUSblog is devoted to covering the U.S. Supreme Court comprehensively, without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards. The blog is provided as a public service."
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThe official, government website of the Supreme Court of the united States.
Media Resources
- Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000* titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons. - Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.