The Holocaust: Home
The Holocaust, also known as the Shoah, was the genocide of European Jews during World War II. Between 1941 and 1945, Nazi Germany and its collaborators systematically murdered some six million Jews across German-occupied Europe, around two-thirds of Europe's Jewish population.
Art and the Holocaust
Art from the Ashes by Art from the Ashes provides the most far-reaching collection of art, drama, poetry, and prose about the Holocaust ever presented in a single volume.
Art of the Holocaust by The horrors of the Holocaust and the Jews' indomitable struggle to survive is reflected in art work created in or depicting ghettos and transit, POW, and concentration camps
- Learning about the Holocaust through artThe works of art in this collection offer a useful resource for Holocaust education, especially when combined with the accompanying biographical and historical material.
Sifting Through Ashes by In August 2015, Robert Miller and Bruce Gendelman toured sites of the Holocaust's atrocities. This is their effort to capture what they experienced, and an attempt, in some small way, to make sense of how the Holocaust happened.
State of Deception by State of Deception: The Power of Nazi Propaganda documents how, in the 1920s and 1930s, the Nazi Party used posters, newspapers, rallies, and the new technologies of radio and film to sway millions with its vision for a new Germany--reinforced by fear-mongering images of state "enemies."
- Teaching about genocide: A cross-curricular approach to art in historyHow do educators use a variety of forms of representation to teach the complexities of genocide? What were the experiences of student-participants and participant-educators engaged in this curriculum? What types of meaning can be gleaned about genocide education by employing a variety of forms of representation? What meanings can students demonstrate about genocide by using a variety of forms of representation?
- Teaching the Holocaust using artLiz Elsby discusses various approaches to utilizing Holocaust art in teaching the Holocaust to your students.
- USHMM Teaching Materials on PropagandaThese lesson plans explore how propaganda and hate speech were used by the Nazis during the Holocaust. Lessons encourage critical thinking about the effects of propaganda on people and society.
Education and the Holocaust
- Teaching about Genocide: A Guidebook for College and University TeachersDespite the long history and enormity of the subject, the number of courses on comparative genocide remains small. It is our belief that educating about genocide not only enhances causal explanation and understanding but will help to create individuals I societies committed to detect and prevent future genocidal atrocities.
History and the Holocaust
Centuries of Genocide by The fourth edition of Centuries of Genocide: Essays and Eyewitness Accounts addresses examples of genocides perpetrated in the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries.
- Dismantling DemocracyThis lesson from Facing History and Ourselves allows students to learn about the transformation of Germany into a dictatorship in 1933–1934 and draw conclusions, based on this history, about the values and institutions that might serve as a bulwark against dictatorship and make democracy possible.
- Echoes and Reflections: Educator Lesson PlansOur Lesson Plans provide a unique experience for educators to teach about the Holocaust effectively and interactively. Lessons are organized by topics that represent major themes associated with the Holocaust in an order that is roughly chronological; the modular design of the Lessons allows for adaption and customization to specific grade levels and subject areas.
- Holocaust Lesson PlansUS Holocaust Memorial Museum educators and historians created these lesson plans for use in secondary classrooms.
- Sandra Bornstein Holocaust Education CurriculumThis Resource Page provides information to help educators enhance their instruction with this difficult but necessary subject. Resources for instruction include our archival materials.
- Teaching about genocide: A cross-curricular approach to art in historyHow do educators use a variety of forms of representation to teach the complexities of genocide? What were the experiences of student-participants and participant-educators engaged in this curriculum? What types of meaning can be gleaned about genocide education by employing a variety of forms of representation? What meanings can students demonstrate about genocide by using a variety of forms of representation?
- Teaching the Holocaust at the University LevelThis article, written by Norman Solkoff and William Allen, outlines an interdisciplinary university course, which dealt with the Nazi treatment of Jews during World War II. The course examines psychological and socio-historical principles which could result in mass murder.
Literature and the Holocaust
- Anne Frank: Teacher ResroucesThe Anne Frank Center for Mutual Respect provides information and educational materials about Anne Frank, the history of the Holocaust, and discrimination today. This section includes downloadable material, teacher’s material and required reading.
Speech and the Holocaust
- Countering Dangerous Speech: New Ideas for Genocide PreventionInflammatory hate speech catalyzes mass killings including genocide, according to scholars, survivors and, notably, some former perpetrators. By teaching people to view other human beings as less than human, and as mortal threats, thought leaders can make atrocities seem acceptable – and even necessary, as a form of collective self defense.
- Dangerous Speech and Dangerous Ideology: An Integrated Model for Monitoring and PreventionThis paper draws together the authors’ independent past work on dangerous speech and the ideological dynamics of mass atrocities by offering a new integrated model to help identify the sorts of speech and ideology that raise the risk of atrocities and genocides
- Genocide and the Media: Roles and RelationshipsThis part of the exhibit explores the theme of mass media, in particular, print, radio and film.Because media is so diverse, it is impossible to generalize its impact, its role or its intent. However, the people behind the media (journalists, publishers and editors, photographers, documentary filmmakers, etc.) always interact with power.
- Teaching Holocaust and Human BehaviorThis unit consists of 23 lessons and an assessment designed to lead middle or high school students through an examination of the catastrophic period in the twentieth century when Nazi Germany murdered six million Jews and millions of other civilians, in the midst of the most destructive war in human history.
- Vile Crime or Inalienable Right: Defining Incitement to GenocidePolitical leaders in Nazi Germany, Rwanda, and other pre-genocidal societies prepared civilian populations to condone genocide, by using certain techniques to make mass killing seem first acceptable, and then necessary. This article describes those techniques, and includes them in a new six-prong model for incitement to genocide.
Theatre and the Holocaust
Holocaust Drama by The Holocaust - the systematic attempted destruction of European Jewry and other 'threats' to the Third Reich from 1933 to 1945 - has been portrayed in fiction, film, memoirs, and poetry. Gene Plunka's study will add to this chronicle with an examination of the theatre of the Holocaust. Including thorough critical analyses of more than thirty plays, this book explores the seminal twentieth-century Holocaust dramas from the United States, Europe, and Israel.
Plays of the Holocaust by Eli : a mystery play of the sufferings of Israel / Nelly Sachs -- Mister Fugue or earth sick / Liliane Atlan -- Auschwitz / Peter Barnes -- Replika / Joźef Szajna -- Ghetto / Joshua Sobol -- Cathedral of ice / James Schevill.
Films
Testimony
- Fortunoff Video Archive Holocaust TestimoniesThe Fortunoff Archive’s collection consists of over 4,400 testimonies of Holocaust survivors, witnesses and liberators. Learn how to search the collection for materials relevant to your research
Reference Works
- The Encyclopaedia of the Nazi Genocide of the Sinti and Roma in EuropeThe first comprehensive overview of the existing knowledge on the persecution and murder of the Sinti and Roma under National Socialism and during the Second World War (1933-1945).
