ENG101: College Writing (Anderson)
What is a Reference Resource?
Reference resources are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals and other books that you would refer to when wanting to know a definition of a word or concept, a general overview of a topic, specific information about a certain period of time or event in history.
Web links to get you started
- Assignment CalculatorFigure out exactly how long your assignment will take. You will not be able to utilize the reminder feature, but the dates given for each part of the research process are provided when you insert the due date.
- Choosing a Topic: A Step by Step GuideAn easy to use web guide on how to put together your paper.
- How to Write a Research paperThis handout provides detailed information about how to write research papers including discussing research papers as a genre, choosing topics, and finding sources.
eReference Sources
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- ProQuest Platform (Power Search) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text coverage for the following Proquest databases: Boston Globe (1980 - current), Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Boston Globe (1872 - 1988), .ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2016), and The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
