SOC 212: Principles of Sociology (Avedikian ): Articles & Databases
Finding Articles at BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. This selection of databases have been chosen especially for researching topics in Sociology. Use the guide below for a quick refresher on searching databases and analyzing scholarly articles.
Recommended Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
- Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals. - ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education literature and resources, giving full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- Global Issues In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowOffers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
How to Read a Scholarly Article
What is Peer Review?
- Peer Review in 3 MinutesHow do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? Learn more from this brief video from NCSU Libraries.
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Tutorial for Using Academic Search Premier
- Academic Search Complete TutorialThis is a brief tutorial on how to search Academic Search Complete. It demonstrates where to enter your search terms, how to limit your results (by full-text, by date, and by resource type), and it demonstrates how to access the article and retrieve the article's citation.