ENG101: College Writing (Habib)
Finding Articles through the BCC Libraries
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research for ENG101.
Recommeded Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
Try Boolean Connectors to Target Search Results!
Keyword searching uses the words AND / OR as powerful connectors between keyword terms to tell a database or catalog how to search according to a system of Boolean logic.
1. Turn your research question or statement into keywords:
Confirmation bias, promoted by regular use of social media, has a negative impact on students' critical thinking skills.
"confirmation bias" "social media" "critical thinking"*
*"Quotes" are used to indicate a phrase is being searched for. Put quotes around two-or-more word combinations.
2. Make a list of synonyms for each of the terms or concepts:
| "confirmation bias" | "social media" | "critical thinking" |
| "echo chamber" | "social networking sites" |
3. Use Boolean logic to connect these keywords into a search statement.
"social media" and "confirmation bias"
*Your results will show only articles that contain both terms, or phrases. This connector serves to narrow your results.
"confirmation bias" or "echo chamber"
*Your results will show articles in which at least one of the terms, or phrases, appears. This connector serves to expand your potential results.