Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: ESL 014: Intermediate English Writing (Fiaux-Lehane): Articles & Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.

This tutorial shows you how to narrow a research topic within Academic OneFile: https://support.gale.com/doc/aone-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Get Link tool found in many Gale resources to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video5
This tutorial shows you how to use Citation Tools found in many Gale resources to simplify the research process: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video1
This tutorial shows you how to use the Topic Finder found in many Gale resources to analyze search results and create a unique research topic: https://support.gale.com/doc/galetools-video6
Academic Search Complete
One of the largest academic multi-disciplinary databases, providing indexing and abstracting for over 8,000 periodicals. Full text is provided for more than 4,650 of these titles with over 3,590 of these being peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. Searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Coverage: 1975 (over 100 journals) – present.
CQ Researcher

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.

Boston Public Library Databases

Access to Electronic Databases

The Boston Public Library provides many excellent databases for people who reside and/or work in Massachusetts. Some of those databases are also available from the BCC Learning Resources Center, others are not.

You need a BPL card to use their databases. You can even register online for a temporary BPL eCard in order to have remote access to the databases. The registration process takes only a few seconds.

Who can get a Library Card?

You are eligible for a library card if you are:

A resident of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
A Massachusetts property owner
Employed in Massachusetts
Attending school in Massachusetts
A resident of temporary housing

Those who fulfill the Massachusetts resident requirement (above) can sign up for a temporary (3 years) Boston Public Library eCard via the web. BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate access to all of the Boston Public Library's electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video and music. eCard users who wish to check out library materials will be asked to upgrade to a standard BPL card. For more information about eCards, please visit the library's FAQ.

Once you have applied for your eCard, you gain access to the electronic databases that are available through remote access via the BPL. Start your research.