HST 290 22W: Comparative Genocide (Brown)
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Icon Legend
You may see the following icons on databases, journals, or websites.
|
|
Boston Public Library Resource |
|
|
Peer Reviewed Content |
|
|
United States Government Document or Publication |
Bristol LLC Search
-
A-Z List of DatabasesThe complete list of databases we offer for finding research resources. Login via Single Sign On is required for all Bristol users to access resources. List can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
-
HELM Course Reserve CatalogCourse Reserve provides textbooks, books, and other materials that support the instructional requirements of specific courses. Many faculty members choose to place material on reserve in order to ensure that all students in the class have access to it. Physical course reserves, such as books and DVDs, are located at each campus at the circulation desk of the Library Learning Commons. This links to the HELM catalog search for Course Reserve materials in the Bristol LLC.
-
Commonwealth CatalogCan't find what you are looking for in our system? With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
Choose HELM-BCC : Bristol Community College LRC.
Login in with 22777 plus your 900# (or the barcode on the back of your student ID) and PIN (typically last 4 digits telephone number).
-
Interlibrary Loan - ILLIf an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
-
Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
Recommended Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
One of the largest academic multi-disciplinary databases, providing indexing and abstracting for over 8,000 periodicals. Full text is provided for more than 4,650 of these titles with over 3,590 of these being peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. Searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Coverage: 1975 (over 100 journals) – present.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
