Welcome to the Online Research Support Page!
Hello! Bristol Librarians would like to let you know that we are here to support you! Your professor placed this link into your online class so that you have research support where you need it- right in your class.
Resources for Starting your Research
These databases are known for their broad and easily accessible overviews. Just enter your 900# at the prompt to access them!
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
-
Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowA web-based digital video delivery service that allows you instant 24/7 access to over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine, Technical Education, Family & Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, and Guidance & Counseling.
-
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
Credo Reference, Gale eBooks, & Wikipedia
Tutorial for Academic Search Premier
APA and MLA Citation Styles: Guides and Sample Papers
-
APA 7th Style Quick GuideA quick guide to APA style, including in-text citations, the References page, and basic citation guidelines.
-
APA 7th Paper Format Example from OWLAn example of a professional APA style paper.
-
MLA Style Quick Guide (8th Edition)A quick guide to MLA style, including in-text citations, the References page, and basic citation guidelines.
-
MLA Paper Format Example form OWLAn example of a professional paper in MLA format.
What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. They are excellent sources for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic as well as to find bibliographies that point to other relevant sources of information.
-
Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleUse this website to help you navigate in a journal
Handouts and Links
-
BCC Library BasicsThe basics of academic research.
-
BCC Writing Center Home PageThe Writing Center has the resources you need to succeed at any writing assignment: 1, Faculty members and peer tutors from a variety of disciplines provide one-on-one guidance and assistance. ...
-
Citation HelpThe Library Learning Common's page for citation help. Find both APA and MLA, as well as Chicago and Turabian.
Research Librarians
As students at Bristol, you have access to research librarians. Librarians are here to help you formulate a research question, find sources, and successfully cite them. You can get in touch with them by making an appointment below:
-
Book-A-LibrarianSet up a research appointment via Zoom, chat, phone, or email!
Library Help Chat
If chat is unavailable, please use our Ask-A-Librarian page to submit a question or make an appointment with Book-A-Librarian.
Find us on Social Media
