Updates on Database Access
Open Access
We also encourage you to use open access resources in your courses. See our guide on Open Access to learn more about the types and popular publishers.
Bristol Library Learning Commons is committed to providing access to quality information resources in all formats for our community. In the past, we have achieved this with assistance from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and the Massachusetts Library System (MLS), who each year was granted federal funding to provide access to research databases statewide.
However, the elimination of the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) from the federal budget following Executive Order 14288 has drastically reduced the ability of the MBLC and MLS to provide these services. As a result, Bristol will no longer have access to the following 14 databases. If you were planning to use one of these databases in your course, please use this guide or contact your subject librarian to discuss alternate options to these databases.
Alternate Databases
|
Britannica Moderna |
Unfortunately, we do not currently have a reference database completely in Spanish to replace this resource. We do have some Spanish dictionaries available in print and eBook format. |
| Boston Globe |
Boston Globe (1872-1984) Available through Bristol LLC Boston Globe (1872-2007) (available with a Boston Public Library card, which is free for all Massachusetts residents) Boston Globe (2008-Present) (available with a Boston Public Library card, which is free for all Massachusetts residents) |
|
Gale Academic OneFile Select |
|
|
Gale General OneFile |
|
|
Gale Health and Wellness |
|
|
Gale in Context: Biography |
Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Other resources available through the Boston Public Library. |
|
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies |
Environmental Studies and Policy OneFile |
|
Gale in Context: Global Issues |
|
|
Gale in Context: Science |
|
|
Gale in Context: U.S. History |
|
|
Gale in Context: World History |
|
|
Gale Interactive Science |
|
|
Gale Legal Forms |
United States Courts Legal Forms Law Depot (Access through the Boston Public Library) |
|
Gale Literature Resource Center |
Gale Literature (Access through Boston Public Library) Gale Literature Criticism (Access through Boston Public Library) |
|
Heritage Quest Online |
Access multiple genealogy resources available through the Boston Public Library, including online resources, in-person texts, and events. |
|
Peterson’s Test Prep |
Peterson’s Test Prep public YouTube page, or specific test prep materials from public libraries – contact your librarian for details |
|
Science Database (ProQuest) |
|
|
Transparent Language Online |
Mango Language (available with a Boston Public Library card, which is free for all Massachusetts residents) |
- Last Updated: Aug 21, 2025 8:38 AM
- URL: https://libguides.bristolcc.edu/c.php?g=1479360
- Print Page