Bristol Community College Library Learning Commons: ENG101: College Writing (Brooks): Reference Resources

eReference Sources

CQ Researcher
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Gale eBooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.

Using Wikipedia

Using Wikipedia can be a great place to start your research. You can learn about a topic, much like you can in Credo Reference, but you can also find links to other sources. Never cite Wikipedia, but use it as a jumping off point for your research.

For example, look up single sex education

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single-sex_education

- you will see there is a long history about this topic and if you scroll to the bottom, you will see a list of references. Many link out to the original article, but some do not. You can actually take the title of an article and try copying into one of our databases to see if we have the full-text of the article.

ENG101: College Writing (Brooks)

Credo Reference, Gale eBooks, Wikipedia

eReference Sources

Using Wikipedia

Using Wikipedia for your Research