EGR141 B1W: Introduction to Environment I (Cotton)
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
- Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
- Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Bristol LLC Search
-
A-Z List of DatabasesThe complete list of databases we offer for finding research resources. Login via Single Sign On is required for all Bristol users to access resources. List can be sorted alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
-
HELM Course Reserve CatalogCourse Reserve provides textbooks, books, and other materials that support the instructional requirements of specific courses. Many faculty members choose to place material on reserve in order to ensure that all students in the class have access to it. Physical course reserves, such as books and DVDs, are located at each campus at the circulation desk of the Library Learning Commons. This links to the HELM catalog search for Course Reserve materials in the Bristol LLC.
-
Commonwealth CatalogCan't find what you are looking for in our system? With access to millions of titles, the Commonwealth Catalog extends your library’s reach to all participating libraries throughout Massachusetts, with convenient pick-up at your local library.
Choose HELM-BCC : Bristol Community College LRC.
Login in with 22777 plus your 900# (or the barcode on the back of your student ID) and PIN (typically last 4 digits telephone number).
-
Interlibrary Loan - ILLIf an item is unavailable through the Library Learning Commons HELM Online Catalog OR the Commonwealth Catalog, this services allows you to borrow books or receive copies of documents that are owned by libraries outside our lending area.
-
Journal Title Look-UpSearch our physical and database journals by title.
Recommeded Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
One of the largest academic multi-disciplinary databases, providing indexing and abstracting for over 8,000 periodicals. Full text is provided for more than 4,650 of these titles with over 3,590 of these being peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. Searchable, cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Coverage: 1975 (over 100 journals) – present.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
-
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Full text database providing essays from books, magazine and news articles, statistics, primary documents, and Web sites present diverse views on many issues. Also a great source of ideas for research papers.
Try Boolean Connectors to Target Search Results!
Keyword searching uses the words AND / OR as powerful connectors between keyword terms to tell a database or catalog how to search according to a system of Boolean logic.
1. Turn your research question or statement into keywords:
Confirmation bias, promoted by regular use of social media, has a negative impact on students' critical thinking skills.
"confirmation bias" "social media" "critical thinking"*
*"Quotes" are used to indicate a phrase is being searched for. Put quotes around two-or-more word combinations.
2. Make a list of synonyms for each of the terms or concepts:
| "confirmation bias" | "social media" | "critical thinking" |
| "echo chamber" | "social networking sites" |
3. Use Boolean logic to connect these keywords into a search statement.
"social media" and "confirmation bias"
*Your results will show only articles that contain both terms, or phrases. This connector serves to narrow your results.
"confirmation bias" or "echo chamber"
*Your results will show articles in which at least one of the terms, or phrases, appears. This connector serves to expand your potential results.