It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate articles from magazines, newspapers, professional and scholarly journals. Magazine and newspaper articles are shorter in length and easier to read, but at the same time, they seldom cover an issue in depth. Use them to gain basic familiarity and then move on to academic-level articles. What do academic articles provide?
A close look at a particular topic or issue
Content authored by scholars active in a particular field
Data to support research findings
In addition, academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies (works cited). If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
Multi-disciplinary database containing mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Over 8,000 academic journal titles are included with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and many other subjects. Also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC, as well as full text New York Times content back to 1995. Coverage 1964 – present.
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
Science Direct College Edition is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
A DOI, or digital object identifier, is like a social security number for a document online. It’s a unique and permanent identifier that will take you straight to a document no matter where it’s located on the Internet. You can read more about DOIs on pp. 188–192 of the 6th edition of the Publication Manual as well as in our FAQ on DOIs. They figure prominently in the 6th edition reference citation style.
Research Exercise: Identifying Components of Experimental Studies
Bristol librarians are available to help you with your research. We provide guidance in locating information and using resources available through the library and on the internet. If you need research help, using the chat box is a fast and easy way to reach out to us!