It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BCC Libraries offer a variety of databases in which you can locate magazine, newspaper, trade, and scholarly journal articles. The databases below have been chosen especially for research for ECE111.
Accessing BCC Library Resources from Off-Campus
When you are off campus (or in locations without a recognized IP address), you will be required to verify that you are a current BCC student by entering either your 900 number or your BCC Campus Card ID.
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education literature and resources, giving full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
One of the richest collections of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 300 full text consumer health periodicals. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 129 health reference books. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; Clinical Pharmacology, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
A digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Designed for professional educators and serious students of education, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 full text high quality education journals and more than 350 full text peer-reviewed titles. In addition, there are over 1,200 abstracted and indexed journals (peer-reviewed and not peer-reviewed). This database also contains more than 200 full text educational reports.
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals and many indexed and abstracted references to articles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage: 1965 – Present.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Why should I look for academic articles?
Why should you do research in academic journals?
Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field
Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic
Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings
Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies
If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research.
How do I get into a BPL Database?
If you see this symbol
You will know that the databases is provided through the Boston Public Library. If you live, work, or go to school in the state of Massachusetts, you are eligible for a Boston Public Library eCard. Fill out the form below and you will receive your eCard number.
Just enter your BPL eCard number when prompted every time you access BPL databases.