Skip to main content

HCI 237: Human Disease, Diagnosis, and Treatment (Berube): Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) are essential to research. They provide quick facts, topical overviews, and statistics that may not be found elsewhere. Below is a sample of the BCC libraries' reference books related to the diagnosis and treatment of human disease. Those in print format do not leave the library; those online require an active BCC ID to access.

Reference Print Books

Reference eBooks

Human Diseases and Conditions Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.

Contagious Diseases Sourcebook Provides updated information about microbes that are spread from person to person and the diseases they cause, including influenza, lice infestation, pneumonias, staphylococcal and streptococcal infections, tuberculosis, and others.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.

Global Pandemic Threats: A Reference Handbook This book offers an accessible reference on epidemic and pandemic diseases that provides background information and history, explains why pandemics are a newly emerging threat, identifies the difficulties in coping with them, and provides hope in the form of modern medicine.

Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

James Emond's picture
James Emond
Chat now
Contact:
Bristol Community College
BCC Library, A Building, Rm 106C
(508) 678-2811 x2316